Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Help me remove a virus!

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by MeKC, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. MeKC

    MeKC

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    487
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hallo Hive.

    Im badly need your help. I think I got a virus, and the reasons why I think that is:

    1. I can't defragmate my computer

    2. I can't download anything from avg's homepage. I have downloaded avg, from download.com but that is not the newest version, and it cant update.
    Just said "The connection with update server have failed".

    3. My windows sometimes freeze

    When I scan the computer with the outdated avg, it only finds something in the cookies, but removeing them don't help.



    Please if anyone got an idea what can be wrong, and know a free tool that can
    help me. Please tell.

    Thank you
     
  2. Squiggy

    Squiggy

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,627
    Resources:
    18
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    15
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    18
    I'd need the virus' name..
     
  3. Japut3h

    Japut3h

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    660
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Reinstall your windows if you can't find the virus name.
     
  4. Gilles

    Gilles

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8,464
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  5. MeKC

    MeKC

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    487
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks Gilles I try that.

    How do I find the name of the virus? My avg can't find any. And I know there is one.

    Edit:

    Omg can't even use the online virus scanner on kaspersky
     
  6. LordDz

    LordDz

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4,303
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well, all I used when I got a virus (3 days ago) was spybot search & destroy. It's free and it's bloody useful.

    Do a fullscan and let it work.
    The home of Spybot-S&D!
     
  7. MeKC

    MeKC

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    487
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thakns LordDZ.

    I will try this when I come home from work.

    Somehow I belive this will work. :D

    EDIT:

    OMG It also block that site. I could open it on my working computer at my job. But not the one with virus on...
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2009
  8. terradont

    terradont

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471
    Resources:
    2
    Icons:
    1
    Template:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    It seems you've got a similar virus as i had once, if it's a virus.
    It blocked all the official and many unofficial anti-virus sites.

    I managed to get my hands on an Avira somehow from an unofficial site. It's free and it works great. Try to google up some other things than the official sites.
     
  9. aarkshark

    aarkshark

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You could always just go ahead and use System Restore. Well, that is, if the virus only appeared recently.