• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

[HELP] A Very Unique Ability

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Hello,

I'm new to the editor, but this ability is unique and I can't find any similar tutorials on making this.

My idea is this: [[http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessage.php?topic_id=345093|]]

Visual:
-The tank launches a smoke missile type object that looks and works like the EMP from Broodwar
-Once it impacts, it creates a line of sight blocking smoke
-lasts 15s, on 30s cooldown
-The cursor shows the shape of the line it should be 1x4 (equal to appx. 4 doodads of LOS blocker Space Platform)
-Once the missile impacts, smoke should be instantaneously spawned

Sound:
-Should sound like a soft missile launch (Marauder grenade or Ghost SC2 EMP)

Effect:
-Once the missile impacts it should spawn a line of smoke (or as a placeholder, spawn a temporary line of LOS blocking doodads from Space Platform
-It works like any regular LOS blocker. Obscures direct vision.
-Multiple Shells may be launched to form different shapes
-The angle of the line should be 90 degress (or perpendicular) to the launch direction. For example, ----> |

If you would like to read more about the details, please refer to the Teamliquid thread.