1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The poll for Hive's 12th Concept Art Contest is up! Go cast your vote for your favourite genie!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. The raddest synthwave tracks were chosen - Check out our Music Contest #12 - Results and congratulate the winners!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

hello all. help please :(

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by shademehre, Nov 1, 2007.

  1. shademehre

    shademehre

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    alright well i have a few problems....


    ok i have a theroy, could i make it wait untill the casting unit dosent have the buff "immolation" on him any more, then make it remove the armor buff? would this work? and if so how would i make the trigget to do it? i cant figure it out, tried the wait for condition thing but that was a no-go :(

    or it can be something other than trees, but i really would prefer trees, im not sure if this is possible though. but if you find a way to make it work with something other than trees please try to keep it to something that would match a skill a druid or the night elf class might "summon" or raise etc.

    also:


    2) the +str per units killed skill is working pretty well, but i feel that adding +1, +2, and +3 str per kill is going to become IMBA, so i tried to lower it to .24, .5, and .75, per level, per unit killed. only problem is its still adding 1 no matter what level it is...(like it wont accept decimel str ammounts)

    3) i dont recall ever seeing a computer use my custom hero o_O how do i make them decide that its just as good as any of the others?

    4)and how do i use a skill, and when i use it it adds +X(agi) damage to my target?

    thanks alot <3 :D


    i am only using only GUI and modifying the abilitiesto make skills. (i know none of JASS, just figured id learn the basics like this and have a fun map to play with at the end...)

    alright thanks for your help. will probably be posting more here (or editing this if possible) for help on the other hero's skills.

    thankz

    ~@~bob
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2007
  2. Just_Spectating

    Just_Spectating

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,023
    Resources:
    46
    Models:
    11
    Icons:
    9
    Skins:
    26
    Resources:
    46
    this is supposed to be a melee map? because, then im pretty sure you cant add triggers into it, but if you can this is really easy..

    there is already another thread about this a while ago "mass entangle" search that in advanced search with checking titles only
     
  3. shademehre

    shademehre

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    ok well i found one guide thing but i didn't understand it

    it went like this:

    Event - An Unit Starts The Effect of An Ability
    Conditions - Ability Being Cast Equal to YourAbility
    Actions - Pick Up Every Unit Within 600 of (Casting Unit) Matching ((Matching Unit) is an enemy of (Owner of (Casting Unit)) equal to True) and do Actions
    -> Create 1 Dummy Unit for (Owner of (Casting Unit)) at Position of (Picked Unit) facing 0.00
    -> Add 1 seconds Expiration Timer to (Last Created Unit)
    -> Order (Last Created Unit) to Night Elf - Keeper of the Grove - Entagling Roots (Picked Unit)


    Actions - Pick Up Every Unit Within 600 of (Casting Unit) Matching ((Matching Unit) is an enemy of (Owner of (Casting Unit)) equal to True) and do Actions
    -> Create 1 Dummy Unit for (Owner of (Casting Unit)) at Position of (Picked Unit) facing 0.00


    thats the part i cant figure out, i cant find the value thing to use for it, im sure its probably one of the unit group options, but then i cant find the whole matching unit stuff....

    also, he keeps refering to a FAQ i've been trying to find but i think its non-exzistant, do you have any idea where i might find this holy- FAQ?

    thankz

    ~@~bob
     
  4. gavdaman88

    gavdaman88

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    428
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    There's definitely a unit type of 'matching unit' there no matter where you use a unit action, its a very clean trigger though besides that and should work.
     
  5. shademehre

    shademehre

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    hmmmmm ok i found that value, now i cant seem to locate the "is an enemy of..." part...

    so far i have this Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units within 200.00 of (Target point of ability being cast) matching (((Matching unit) is A ground unit) Equal to True)) and do (Actions)


    "(((Matching unit) is A ground unit) Equal to True))" his is what im trying to figrue out how to change to: "is an enemy of" but that option isnt in the drop-down menu, its all like "is a hero" or "is able to attack air units" etc etc etc...

    everyone keeps saying what a simple skill this is but gawd i don't get it
     
  6. DenZel94

    DenZel94

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    3
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    5
    Base of the hero skill of an instant cast ability (e.g. War Stomp, Thunder Clap, Howl, etc.) and change it to Hero skill and remove all the values except cooldown, tooltip and mana requirement..

    • Event
      • Unit - A Unit Starts The Effect of An Ability
    • Conditions
      • (Ability Being Cast) Equal to [YourAbility]
    • Actions
      • Unit - Pick every unit within 600 of (Casting Unit) matching ((Matching Unit) belongs to an enemy of (Owner of (Casting Unit)) equal to True) and do Actions
        • Do - Actions
          • Unit - Create 1 [Dummy Unit] for (Owner of (Casting Unit)) at Position of (Picked Unit) facing 0.00
          • Unit - Set level of [Dummy Entangling Roots Skill] of (last Created Unit) to (Level of [YourAbility] of (Casting Unit))
          • Unit - Order (Last Created Unit) to Night Elf - Keeper of the Grove - Entagling Roots (Picked Unit)
          • Unit - Add a 1.00 second Generic Expiration Timer to (Last Created Unit)


    Now, you need to create a Dummy Unit which has the skills, locust, invulnerability and the ability you want BASED on Entangling Roots. Remove the model and shadow of the unit and also the attack...

    In the based skill, put the highest RANGE possible and 0 cooldown and mana requirement, you may place any damage. Make it a UNIT ability as well. You may place any level on it and due to the skill, the level of the dummy ability will be set to the level of the casted ability by the Hero..

    To find MATCHING UNIT BELONGS TO AN ENEMY OF..... You may find it on the Dropdown of [Boolean Comparison(?)] and find [Unit - Unit Belong to an enemy of Player]
     
  7. shademehre

    shademehre

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    wahoo, ok it creates the units but....

    i can still see them, i cant change the model fine to none or (what would i change it to anyways to make them have none?), so i gave them the invisibility ability but it dosen't work either.... so how would i fix this?

    oh, and im trying to make this a casted ability, not an ability that happens around you, similar to the silence ability....

    thankz

    ~@~bob
     
  8. DenZel94

    DenZel94

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    3
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    5
    Fix it via changing the FILE PATH by nothing.. OR [Shift + Double Click] the , eh model part thingy (>.< I can't explain) and change it to nothing, it will show like this..

    .mdl ~ YES THAT'S IT ^^

    EDIT: File Path or Custom, THE SAME!
     
  9. shademehre

    shademehre

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    ok, my trigger looks almost exzactly like the one you show,

    the skill my hero casts is "war stomp", so yeah i cast it, the earth bends and nothing else happens....

    whats wrong?

    edit - oh, where yours says "do-actions" mine says "loop - actions" does this matter? if so how do i change it, ive tried but not sure how...

    thankz

    ~@~bob
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2007
  10. Just_Spectating

    Just_Spectating

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,023
    Resources:
    46
    Models:
    11
    Icons:
    9
    Skins:
    26
    Resources:
    46
    its loop - actions, he probably just put do-actions by mistake
     
  11. shademehre

    shademehre

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    IIIIIIIII DID ITTTTTTTTTTT!!!!!!! :D

    I swear that was the hardest spell to ever make. ever. period.

    thanks to all who helped me

    ok moving on - next skill:

    i want pretty much an amility exzactly the same as DOTA's tinker's goblin army thing, but with deer or perhaps another wild animal (centaurs)

    how would i do this?

    thankz

    ~@~bob
     
  12. Just_Spectating

    Just_Spectating

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7,023
    Resources:
    46
    Models:
    11
    Icons:
    9
    Skins:
    26
    Resources:
    46
    just use stampede and change the model to a unit that already has a walking animation for its stand.. ive gotten one here..
     

    Attached Files:

  13. shademehre

    shademehre

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    oh...lol

    ok well that problem is solved, next one :

    now i would like to make a spell that creates a wall or trees, kinda like dota furion's skill with the tree circle, but in a line to either make an impenatrable defensive obstical or to cut-off an enemy's retreat.

    or it can be something other than trees, but i really would prefer trees, im not sure if this is possible though. but if you find a way to make it work with something other than trees please try to keep it to something that would match a skill a druid or the night elf class might "summon" or raise etc.

    ~@~bob
     
  14. Samo

    Samo

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You can actually create Destructibles with triggers. Now, you have to use Maths if you want to create a wall in a line. You Should use an ability like Shockwave with no Damage, Missile and effect. Then, in the triggers, You must obtain the Point. Like in the others, now set a variable called Point wiht the Target Point of Ability bEINg cast. Now, you should do a for each integer a from 1 to TOTAL SIZE. Then, the actions should be creating a tree at a point like this:
    Point with Polar Offset.
    The Base point is the variable that you set before.
    The Angle is actually this: (Math-Angle Between Points: Position of Caster and target point of ability being cast) + (90 X Sign(Conversion Integer to Real(Arithmetic : (For Loop Integer A) - (Total Size / 2)))).
    The Offset is something that I have to think more, but is easy to do. Just Use some Maths XD.

    Ok, I hope this makes you think a little. See ya!
     
  15. zilogan

    zilogan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    i want to see your map later.. plzz post it when youre done
     
  16. shademehre

    shademehre

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    lol well that makes one really really big tree =\ and you lost me here "(Total Size / 2))))." i cant find this total size value thing ....

    but it did makea tree so thats a plus, anyways ima go work on the rampage skill while waiting on a reply :D

    thankz

    ~@~bob
     
  17. DenZel94

    DenZel94

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    3
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    5
    Total Size is an integer variable as I have observed..

    • CRAPPY
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit Starts the effect of an ability
      • Conditions
        • (Ability being cast) Equal to Shockwave
      • Actions
        • Set Point = (Target point of ability being cast)
        • Set CasterPoint = (Position of (Casting unit))
        • Set TotalSize = 5
        • For each (Integer A) from 1 to TotalSize, do (Actions)
          • Loop - Actions
            • Destructible - Create a Summer Tree Wall at (Point offset by ((Angle from CasterPoint to Point) + (90.00 x (Sign((Real(((Integer A) - (TotalSize / 1)))))))) towards 0.00 degrees) facing (Random angle) with scale 1.00 and variation 0
        • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_Point)
        • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_CasterPoint)


    PS: The offset is unknown to me cuz I dun know which is the effect, creating a wall sideways or from the caster to the point..

    The example shows that it will create 5 trees...

    THE CUSTOM SCRIPTS DESTROY MEMORY LEAKS..

    • SHITTY
      • Events
        • Unit - A Unit Starts The Effect of An Ability
      • Conditions
        • (Ability Being Cast) Equal to [YourAbility]
      • Actions
        • Custom script: set bj_wantDestroyGroup = true
        • Unit - Pick every unit within 600 of (Casting Unit) matching ((Matching Unit) belongs to an enemy of (Owner of (Casting Unit)) equal to True) and do Actions
          • Loop - Actions
            • Set TargetLoc = (Position of (Picked Unit))
            • Unit - Create 1 [Dummy Unit] for (Owner of (Casting Unit)) at TargetLoc facing 0.00
            • Unit - Set level of [Dummy Entangling Roots Skill] of (Last Created Unit) to (Level of [YourAbility] of (Casting Unit))
            • Unit - Order (Last Created Unit) to Night Elf - Keeper of the Grove - Entagling Roots (Picked Unit)
            • Unit - Add a 1.00 second Generic Expiration Timer to (Last Created Unit)
        • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_TargetLoc)


    This will also remove the memory leak from my trigger
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2007
  18. shademehre

    shademehre

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    wahoo! i did it, its kinda sloppy i think but oh well it works... i used your forumula thing but did this :

    Destructible - Create a Summer Tree Wall at (point offset by (((Angle from casterpoint to point) + (50.00 x ((Sign((Real((Integer A))))) - (10.00 / 1.00)))), 0.00)) facing (Random angle) with scale 1.00 and variation 0
    Destructible - Create a Summer Tree Wall at (point offset by (((Angle from casterpoint to point) + (40.00 x ((Sign((Real((Integer A))))) - (10.00 / 1.00)))), 0.00)) facing (Random angle) with scale 1.00 and variation 0
    Destructible - Create a Summer Tree Wall at (point offset by (((Angle from casterpoint to point) + (30.00 x ((Sign((Real((Integer A))))) - (10.00 / 1.00)))), 0.00)) facing (Random angle) with scale 1.00 and variation 0

    then so on untill i got to -50 and it makes a wall :D

    anywyas, now i got the problem of having a permanent wall there, this just won't do if i plan to have any balance in the game, so how do i add an expireation timer to a destructable? i didnt see one like there is for units...any suggestions?

    *edit* ohhh also your custom scripts just make my triggers to have errors in them and it makes them not be able to be activated....

    thankz

    ~@~bob
     
  19. DenZel94

    DenZel94

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    3
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    5
    Are you sure when writing the custom scripts, you didn't put a space before and/or after the parenthesis? It should be typed like this:

    call RemoveLocation(udg_[VARIABLENAME]) ~ capitalization of the variable name is essential, even wrong size lettering will error it..
    set bj_wantDestroyGroup = true ~ I'm not really sure if this is the code o_O

    To remove the doodads, you may do it like this..
    • CRAPPY
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit Starts the effect of an ability
      • Conditions
        • (Ability being cast) Equal to Shockwave
      • Actions
        • Set Point = (Target point of ability being cast)
        • Set CasterPoint = (Position of (Casting unit))
        • Set TotalSize = 5
        • For each (Integer A) from 1 to TotalSize, do (Actions)
          • Loop - Actions
            • Destructible - Create a Summer Tree Wall at (Point offset by ((Angle from CasterPoint to Point) + (90.00 x (Sign((Real(((Integer A) - (TotalSize / 1)))))))) towards 0.00 degrees) facing (Random angle) with scale 1.00 and variation 0
            • Set Tree1[(Integer A)] = (Last created destructible)
        • Wait 3.00 seconds
        • For each (Integer B) from 1 to TotalSize, do (Actions)
          • Loop - Actions
            • Destructible - Kill Tree1[(Integer B)]
        • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_Point)
        • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_CasterPoint)


    AND QUESTION TO YOUR TRIGGER.

    PS: Tree1 is a Doodad Variable w/ Array...
     
  20. shademehre

    shademehre

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    ok im stumped, that dosent work, wherever im supposed to use the "total size" varriable it has to be a "real" varriable not intiger, and besides, that only creates one tree.....


    ~@~bob