• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Gold and Lumber equivalence

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 14
Just a simple question; Based on Melee maps,
How much gold does 1 lumber costs?
Or
What's the equivalence of gold to lumber?
Or
How much gold can I get from converting 1 lumber?

I need this to balance the gold and lumber costs.
I hope you guys understand my question, I'm not good at elaborating.
Just this one simple question.

Level 12
I'd take a rough guess at gold being worth a bit more than twice as much as lumber (on average) in terms of building costs.

But for units it's probably more like 3 to 4 times or more.

p.s. a way to get a rough idea would probably be to measure how the goldmine income compare to the lumber income per each worker.

I think you get gold something like 2 or 3 times faster, but then again you can only have 5 workers for max potential per goldmine.

Level 14
@Death Adder Yeah. I think the best way to get costs is to measure how fast 1 worker can gather and transfer 10 gold from g.mine to t.hall, and another 1 worker to gather and transfer lumber from tree to t.hall, with the tree having the same distance to the t.hall with the g.mine. But I just have to guess the value using this one.

Damn I hope someone knows the exact value.

Level 12
I think they are fairly equal. Because you gain gold a lot faster, but you don't need as much lumber since a unit costs 25 lumber and 125 gold. Same goes for buildings most of the time at the very least.

You just explained how they are very unequal. xd

You need and earn more gold than lumber, so one gold is worth less than one lumber...

How much gold can I get from converting 1 lumber?