Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Fortification wall

Submitted by MassiveMaster
This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
I made this for a wall system a while ago. I wanted to have buildable and walkable walls (via triggers) with different animations for each level of destruction:

-Undamaged (Stand)
-Damaged with destroyed battlement (Stand upgade first)
-Destroyed with only the destructed base remaining (Stand upgade second)

But when building the walls on uneven ground the walls have different hights that doesn't look that good. Thus, this works only on completely flat terrain (ugly).
If anybody knows a good solution, please give a comment how to do this. :)

I also will attach a test map, where you can see how the model is intended to work (with some rudimentary triggers).

The model only uses ingame textures (for low filesize) and has a portrait camera, team colour, the standard animations (Stand/Birth/Death/Decay) and two upgrade levels.

Updates:
-Changed the texture unwrap of the wooden wall walk
-Added an underground base
-Fixed animations by using GeosetAnims instead of scalings
-Changed animation names of undamaged and destroyed version for easier use as doodad
-Dust now correctly disappears at the end of the animations


Pls give credits, if you use it in your map.
You are allowed to modifie it as long as you give credits.

Keywords:
fortification, wall, stone, building, structure, medieval, age,
Contents

Fortification wall (Model)

Reviews
Moderator
Frankster [img]: Good old memories about the game Stronghold arise when I see this model. Might be very useful for castle maps and generic medieval games. Works in-game and performs well. (You might want to create a diagonal piece, a corner...
  1. TheForsaken

    TheForsaken

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    finnaly a wall wich could be use on a simple melee map ! great model man \!
     
  2. mobgrip4

    mobgrip4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    what model did u use for the wall and the gate:vw_wtf::vw_wtf:
     
  3. InfernalTater

    InfernalTater

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,970
    Resources:
    36
    Models:
    32
    Icons:
    2
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    36
    What?
    He MADE the model for the wall and gate, that's exactly what you're LOOKING AT. *sigh* ...
    This IS the model used for the wall and the gate, that's the whole reason it's here called "fortification wall" with a picture of it.
     
  4. BlackArmsShadow

    BlackArmsShadow

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Could you perhaps make a Horde style quivalent?

    I'm making a map with a large Orc city and would appreciate this greatly. Thanks.
     
  5. MassiveMaster

    MassiveMaster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Resources:
    31
    Models:
    26
    Packs:
    2
    Skins:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    31
    Sorry, probably won't do other styled equivalents of this for now, as i first want to finish the models for this wall system and still have a looooong list of models I wanted to make, ... but not enough the time do it. :grin:
     
  6. Slipo

    Slipo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    only bad this is that i cant use it as doodas 3/5 :ogre_frown:
     
  7. Symon

    Symon

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Could you make the same model, but square-like? It's hard to make it turnable like this... Cool model, anyway! :)
     
  8. joeshia_b_asian

    joeshia_b_asian

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    How do you turn this model
    i am making a strategy game that is like warcraft only better with better models and i would like to use this for wall but it will onlly be real good once i know how to turn it 3/5 till u have the way to turn it labeled
     
  9. Karzama

    Karzama

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    602
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'm in the same situation as joeshia_b_asian....
     
  10. MassiveMaster

    MassiveMaster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Resources:
    31
    Models:
    26
    Packs:
    2
    Skins:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    31
    I answered him here, where he asked the same question, a second time. I also created a test map, where you can see how I implemented it.
     
  11. Statharas

    Statharas

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,332
    Resources:
    14
    Tools:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    5
    Tutorials:
    8
    Resources:
    14
    Exquisite!
     
  12. Alexxxx

    Alexxxx

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Please create a texture to be of the Orcs :)
     
  13. timantim

    timantim

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Might ask a pretty stupid question, excuse me, I'm a bit new in warcraft 3 map making world, but, I've attempted to settle up a wall building, still, after I've made the object it displays me in the world editor, and warcraft 3, just the version of the crashed one.
     
  14. MassiveMaster

    MassiveMaster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Resources:
    31
    Models:
    26
    Packs:
    2
    Skins:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    31
    You have to add the proper animation strings (like: "upgrade", "second") under "Graphic - Needed animation name" or something like that. You can look in my example map for how to get the proper ones. :)
     
  15. WOWWARS

    WOWWARS

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    489
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Awesome model and test map may i use its base for some use in my own upcoming maps?
     
  16. MassiveMaster

    MassiveMaster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Resources:
    31
    Models:
    26
    Packs:
    2
    Skins:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    31
    Yes, sure. Therefore it has been made. It's open source. :ogre_haosis:
     
  17. TheFrenchLeprechaun

    TheFrenchLeprechaun

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    464
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    The testing map crashes for me when I open it.
     
  18. MassiveMaster

    MassiveMaster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Resources:
    31
    Models:
    26
    Packs:
    2
    Skins:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    31
    Strange. I tested the uploaded map and also with the normal TFT editor (1.24e) it didn't crash or anything. Do you have the newest version? And if you mean it shows errors when saving and then crashes - that's because you need a compiler for vJass, like it's implemented in the NewGen WE.
     
  19. TheFrenchLeprechaun

    TheFrenchLeprechaun

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    464
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I have the normal editor running on 1.26 patch. And I just can't open the map, that isn't a problem of saving...
     
  20. MassiveMaster

    MassiveMaster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Resources:
    31
    Models:
    26
    Packs:
    2
    Skins:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    31
    Sry for the late respond. I updated my Wc3 to 1.26 and it still is working. :grin:
    You have the Frozen Throne on 1.26, right? Try to open it by starting the editor and then click open map and select the map. If not, do other maps work for your editor? And do you have any modifications or the standard one?