1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[JASS] Fastest way to do...

Discussion in 'Triggers & Scripts' started by Saishy, Feb 10, 2009.

  1. Saishy

    Saishy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I have a spell that make all allied units in a area invulnerable, the spell is channel and if the unit get out of the area or the unit stop channeling the unit must become vulnerable again.

    So, what is the best way to do it? Unit group and check if its in range?

    Edit: Also, what is the best way to damage unit in line in a shockwave like ability? How can I move the unit damaging but don't damage twice the same unit.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2009
  2. chenlimin

    chenlimin

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Do you mean "Big Bad Voodoo" spell of orc's witch doctor? It's a melee spell, no trigger needed, all auto.

    Shockwave would not damage a unit twice, if you want a knock back system, search is your best friend, but most is in jass.

    Btw, it's not a must to use jass, using it would waste more time.
     
  3. Ciebron

    Ciebron

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    760
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    if u wanna have a moving projectile u just move it and check for units in range and if u only want to damage them once check if they are not in a specified group, and when u damage them add them to a the specified group
     
  4. Saishy

    Saishy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Its not like big bad voodoo, you can target any area you want, but you gave me a idea to put a dummy unit channeling it lol...

    I don't want shockwave since I want to do variable damage.

    I already have a knockback system, thank you, but I don't need it since there inst knockback in that spell o.o

    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    @Ciebron

    So, that is the best way? I don't know if checking a group every time the damage something will lag.
     
  5. Element of Water

    Element of Water

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,298
    Resources:
    5
    Spells:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    5
    Yes, that is the fastest way to do it