• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

Ender's Battleroom

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
--NOTE: I am currently desperately looking for assistance in this project and am just beginning--

I'm relatively new to the whole mapmaking process, but I thought it would be great fun to make a map based on the battleroom in the novel Ender's Game.

For those of you who dont know it, 2 armies of 40 people each go into a null-gravity room. They have a pistol that shoots both a long range laser (think sniper) and a quick flash of light (think shotgun). They are also wearing suits that amplify their muscle movements, but freeze up when exposed to light (enemy weapons). They can jump off of the walls of the room and "stars" (large cubular blocks) that are randomly placed in the room. The game ends when one team is completely disabled and the other team completes the winning ritual, which is getting 5 soldiers to the enemies "gate" (entrance).

What I am currently envisioning is a large open area with pathing enabled, but that actually looks like it opens out into space. The walls of the battleroom and "stars" would be cliffs to normal land.
Your unit would be on a level roughly halfway up that cliff (giving the impression that it was holding onto the side of the cliff, not standing on it)
If you moved your unit such that it did not stay in contact with the cliff, your unit would become unmovable, floating in the direction it was traveling until it hit another cliff (as if in null g).
Your unit would have 2 abilities (hotkeyed A and S) that would fire a beam in the direction you click (one being the shotgun shot and the other being the sniper shot).
Abilities would have very short cooldowns, but you would be limited by energy (preventing spamming of shots).