• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[JASS] Different passive ability effects

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Hi,

I'm new to jass and have been wondering how to do custom passive abilities.
For example, how can "15% chance to poison target for x seconds dealing x damage" be done?

Well, logically dummy passive ability should be used (bash with 0 sec) plus cast poison. The alternative question is - how to materialize this - casting poison when "bash spell" passed?

Practical answers are welcome :)

Thank you for your attention!

Level 18
Okay well let's think of this problem. What you want to do I'm assuming is have a 15% chance on attack to inflict a poisonous effect - so let's think this through.

The first thing we have is "15% chance on attack" so let's break this down. We're going to need a damage-detection system in order to detect when a unit follows through with a successful attack. It is a little more complicated than I'm making it sound because you'll probably need to learn how to use a damage-detection system first (though it's not rocket science). Once you've successfully started detecting attacks then you can randomize when your main effect occurs by comparing a randomly generated number to a certain constant. Here's an example:

JASS:
local boolean pushEffect = false
    if GetRandomInt(0, 100) < 15 then
        set pushEffect = true
    endif

Assuming that GetRandomInt is truly random, it can be said that pushEffect is only going to be true 15% of the time, as a random number between 1-100 only has 15% chance to be less than 15.