1. Find your way through the deepest dungeon in the 18th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. A brave new world lies beyond the seven seas. Join the 34th Modeling Contest today!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hive 3 Remoosed BETA - NOW LIVE. Go check it out at BETA Hive Workshop! Post your feedback in this new forum BETA Feedback.
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Deleting abilties = WE crash

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by EpixBelongToMe, Sep 1, 2009.

  1. EpixBelongToMe

    EpixBelongToMe

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    188
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    hello,
    i have a strange problem with some custom created abilties in map. when i try to delete them in the object editor the following message appears:

    This application has encountered a critical error:

    There is not enough space for this operation.

    Program: C:\Program Files (x86)\Warcraft III\worldedit121.exe
    Object: CustomObjectField (.?AUCustomObjectField@@)

    Press OK to terminate the application.


    some points from me:
    1. it appears only on a few abilities and only abilities
    2. reinstalling doesn't help
    3. crashes with normal we and newgen we
    4. tried on different pcs with xp or vista
    5. every pc has enough space and RAM
    6. I noticed is that the worldedit121.exe is created due to this error if i delete it and then go back to the editor it creates a new exe upon crashing.
    7. i found a old thread on hive with the same error but no solution and the thread is closed (in the other thread the error occurs while map loading)
     
  2. .Ragnaros

    .Ragnaros

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Post your abilities here.
     
  3. EpixBelongToMe

    EpixBelongToMe

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    188
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    the abilties are just edited basic spells from the game.
    one abilitie that crashes is based on bloodlust, another one on channel and on spellbook.
    other abilities based on this spells can be deleted without crashes.

    i also tried to reset them to standard first and then delete but still the same result with the crit error.
     
  4. manstie

    manstie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    847
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Deprotect your map.
     
  5. .Ragnaros

    .Ragnaros

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Epix you protected your map? if you did, did you made a backup? >_<
     
  6. manstie

    manstie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    847
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Yeah, he might of protected the map, but that isn't why I said deprotect it. If you replace the object data file with a fake one then he will be able to open his map.

    Thanks for leaving my sig at peace.
     
  7. MGCǂSpectre

    MGCǂSpectre

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,007
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Have you tried exporting the object data, then importing it on a new map? Sometimes even using things like WEU or other advance programs may make a map have such strange behavior. I don't wanna kill your hope but if the object data works on a new map, you may want to create a new map importing object data, triggs and everything.

    See if the object data works on a new map. It's quite possible something to have been damaged if you use other progs. That's why I hate 3rd parties and would rather stick to what Blizzard offers when it comes to such major modifications.
     
  8. EpixBelongToMe

    EpixBelongToMe

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    188
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    the map isn't protected. and the abilities where created with normal editor or newgen editor so the error can occure for both.
    when i copy the data to a new map i can delete the abilities which crash on the original map.

    yeah so i think the problem is within the map but i think it's also something with this worldedit121.exe that is always created.



    and the error occurs in the editor not in the game. ingame it's all fine.
     
  9. Reaper2008

    Reaper2008

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,117
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    What patch are you using?
     
  10. EpixBelongToMe

    EpixBelongToMe

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    188
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    newest patch. so 1.24b
     
  11. onix_noob

    onix_noob

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    433
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    worldedit121.exe

    The error is saying you are using 1.21 version of WE. This is your problem, next time when you patch your Warcraft don't use Version Switchers.

    Next time when you have error with your warcraft read it and think about things that it's saying.

    Have fun
     
  12. n00byn4t3r

    n00byn4t3r

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    If i use JNGP then the process name of WE is always worledit121.exe in the process list while the actual editor is 1.24b.
     
  13. EpixBelongToMe

    EpixBelongToMe

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    188
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    always look for yourself and read the whole thread before blaming others ...

    i don't use any version switchers. i tried it with normal editor and newgen editor. i reinstalled warcraft 3 and patched with battle.net. the error is in both editors the same.
    and i have 2 worldedit.exe in my wc3 folder. the normal one without any number and the one with 121 that is always created upon crashing. i can delete the 121 one without problems but if the error comes again the exe is recreated.

    and the error mainly says there is not enough space. but that can not be the reason.
     
  14. Reaper2008

    Reaper2008

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,117
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Can you save the map if you change nothing? Maybe it's your write priviledges.
     
  15. EpixBelongToMe

    EpixBelongToMe

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    188
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    i can save the map with or without changes.
    the crash is just when i try to delete some abilities in the object editor.
     
  16. MultiGod

    MultiGod

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    really weird, try making that ability again in a blank map, save it, and try to delete it.
     
  17. Unregret

    Unregret

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    822
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Sorry if i pull this thread back, but anyone here find a way to remove it? I'm facing with similar problem here. Try making a custom spell based on Blizzard (Neutral Hostile), then get the error if delete that ability. Is this ability corrupted from the beginning?