• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[Crash] Custom Map Issue: (FPS/Lag Crash)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Howdy all,

I have a problem and I was hoping y'all could lend a hand!

First, forgive me - I am no expert in coding or computer terminology and will attempt to explain my issue as best as I can with the terms and knowledge I have. I have searched through dozens of forum posts (mostly dissimilar problems) and solutions for Reforged crashes to no avail (updating drivers, allotting computer power to WC3 etc.).

I am currently developing a map called "The Winter Isle Incident" (currently in a early to mid beta) and I am experiencing the following issues:
- Lag out, such that the frame rate drops massively (approx 1 frame per 30 seconds, skipping about 1-7 seconds of frames at a time) (including all UI controls until a menu can be processed to be opened after some time, thereafter the game can be interacted with normally until it is un-paused)
- Occurs at different points in the game depending on the number of units on the map (ranging anywhere from 7 seconds in to upwards of 30 minutes)
- This lag will never end (waiting, even reloading a save from this state, etc.)
- However, sounds seem to play almost normally during this state​

Some relevant notes:
- The Warcraft 3 client suddenly has too much to handle at once, hence the crash... But why?