• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

Commas in tooltips in *Func.txt

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
A rather obscure question here.

Background: I'm partway through translating a map by directly editing the files from the MPQ. It appears that this map has been widgetized, and the usual method to undo that doesn't work for various reasons. So, I'm stuck doing find-replaces on HumanAbilityFunc.txt, ItemFunc.txt, HumanUnitFunc.txt, etc. I have little experience otherwise with map editing.

I'm editing tooltips in HumanAbilityFunc.txt. The original language is in Chinese, which uses a full-width comma (,) rather than the ASCII comma (,). However, it appears that the ASCII comma is also a special character which separates tooltips for different levels in ability tooltips. This means that any tooltip in English with an ASCII comma in it gets cut off at that point ingame.

I'm wondering if there is some way to escape the commas in tooltips and descriptions to keep them from being treated as control characters. Neither quotes about the tooltip nor a backslash preceding the comma work.

Much thanks in advance.