• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Casting Cyclone...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 10
Joined
Mar 22, 2009
Messages
378
Hey, I'm not sure what is wrong with this trigger... Can someone help me?

  • Events
  • Unit - A unit is attacked
  • Conditions
  • ((Attacked unit) Has buff Wind Armor) Equal to True
  • Actions
  • Set WindArmor = (Random integer number between 1 and 100)
  • If (all conditions are true) the do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
    • If - Conditions
      • WindArmor Less than or equal to 100
        • Unit - Create 1 DummyUnit at (DummyRegion <gen>) facing default building degrees
        • Unit - Order (Last Created Unit) to Night Elf Druid of the Talon - Cyclone (Attcking Unit)
      • Else - Actions
 
Level 16
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
1,605
Answer to: Casting Cyclone...

Moin moin =)

1) In the first condition use (Triggering Unit) instead of (Attacked Unit)
2) Why you set a variable "WindArmor"? It will trigger anyway because any number will be 100 or less
3) You create the Dummy at (DummyRegion) but where you set the region?
4) Make sure you mod the Cyclone correct (No cooldown, no manacost, no requirements, allowed targets .... )
5) Make sure your dummy really has the Cyclone ability.

Greetings
~ The Bomb King > Dr. Boom
 
Level 10
Joined
Mar 22, 2009
Messages
378
Moin moin =)

1) In the first condition use (Triggering Unit) instead of (Attacked Unit)
2) Why you set a variable "WindArmor"? It will trigger anyway because any number will be 100 or less
3) You create the Dummy at (DummyRegion) but where you set the region?
4) Make sure you mod the Cyclone correct (No cooldown, no manacost, no requirements, allowed targets .... )
5) Make sure your dummy really has the Cyclone ability.

Greetings
~ The Bomb King > Dr. Boom

1) Ill try that
2) I know, that's just for when I test it. Then I will set it to 5 or less.
3) Its in the middle, and I did so that cyclone has range over the entire map.
4) Ill look at that again.
5) Ill make sure that too ^^

Edit: Didnt seem to work now either. Ill try a little more...
 
Level 5
Joined
May 12, 2008
Messages
77
Your spell causes memory leaks.

1.) Destroy the location:
Instead of
  • Trigger
    • Aktionen
      • Einheit - Create 1 Dummy for Player at (Center of (DummyRegion)) facing ? degrees
use
  • Trigger
    • Aktionen
      • Set Windamor_Point = (Center of (DummyRegion))
      • Einheit - Create 1 Dummy for Player at Windamor_Point facing ? degrees
      • Custom script: call RemoveLocation (udg_Windamor_Point)

2.) Your Dummy will stay alive until the game is ended. Remove him
  • Trigger
    • Aktionen
      • Einheit - Create 1 Dummy for Player at Windamor_Point facing ? degrees
      • Einheit - Add a 1.00 second Standard expiration timer to (Last created unit)

Edit: If that's OK for you put your map here or send it to sb so we can fix the problem for you.
 
Level 6
Joined
May 11, 2010
Messages
236
3) Its in the middle, and I did so that cyclone has range over the entire map.
If range is a concern, make sure the dummies collision size is zero and it has the locust ability, and just create the dummy on the position of the target unit
  • Unit - Create 1 DummyUnit for player 9 (Gray) at (Position of Triggering Unit) facing Default building facing degrees
 
Level 5
Joined
May 12, 2008
Messages
77
Sry for two posts but I wasn't able to attach the file to the first post.

Here is a (as far as I know) properly working version of your spell.
 

Attachments

  • Wind Amor.w3x
    18.2 KB · Views: 56
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top