• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

[vJASS] Calculate Knockback Angle

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 17

I am making a spell for my map that is similar to Barathrum's charge (from DotA). Everything works fine except the knockback angle for the units that the hero runs past. I have a diagram to explain better:

knockbackangle.jpg

Explanation
I want the targets to be knocked back at right angles to the direction of movement of the caster.
My current function is:
JASS:
set D.angle = bj_RADTODEG * Atan2(GetUnitY(D.target) - GetUnitY(D.caster), GetUnitX(D.target) - GetUnitX(D.caster))
However, this is inaccurate.

How would I calculate the correct angle? Please use degrees because I have never worked with radians before.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Level 18
JASS:
set D.angle = bj_RADTODEG * Atan2(GetUnitY(D.target) - GetUnitY(D.caster), GetUnitX(D.target) - GetUnitX(D.caster))

That isn't inaccurate. That is an equation for the angle between two points.

The diagram you posted suggests you're trying to do something different though. It looks more like you're trying to get the angle from an imaginary line which the caster is moving along and targets that are close-to that line.

Level 17
I want the nearby units to be knocked back at right angles to the caster.

For example, if the caster is moving vertically upwards, nearby enemies will either be knocked back towards 0 or 180 degrees, depending on which side of the caster the units are.

Level 18
Well first you need to determine the angle of motion of the caster. This will be what you are using to compare which side of the caster it is on.

Let's say, for example, the caster is moving at a 30° angle.

The target encountered is at an angle of 220° from the caster. That is roughly south-west (little more to the west).