1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[General] Building upgrade

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Ken Christopher, Jan 14, 2019.

  1. Ken Christopher

    Ken Christopher

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    245
    Resources:
    2
    Icons:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Hi

    Out of curiousity, can we make like when we upgrade a building, the building model like add on the graphic / model of the upgrade is attached on the building?

    example:

    a castle, when we upgrade spike, the castle model will show spike around the castle
     
  2. wc3neverdies

    wc3neverdies

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    332
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Well, for the spikes you can use the orc upgrade that has spikes too. Check this thread

    Attachment Points

    It shows the attachment points for the buildings. You can create an ability and add a model to the attachment in the graphic category in Object editor.
     
  3. Ken Christopher

    Ken Christopher

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    245
    Resources:
    2
    Icons:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Not really understand. Can you please explain more on how to do it?
    I can do them in the trigger editor right?
    and besides spike, if i wanted to put ray of light, can it be done too? or do I need 3d model to attach on it?
     
  4. Hermit

    Hermit

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,158
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    How is that different from the Spiked Barricades upgrade?
    Spiked Barricades
    [​IMG] SpikedBarricadesTooltip.jpg
    NoSpikedBarricades.jpg SpikedBarricades.jpg

    Just open the Object Editor and look how the Spiked Barricades upgrade works.
    You don't need any triggers for adding simple attachments.
    What do you mean? If it doesn't already exist in the game, you need to import a custom model.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2019
  5. Ken Christopher

    Ken Christopher

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    245
    Resources:
    2
    Icons:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Yes, basically is like this. and some model might has prefix location for the upgrade

    I mean that if it is not exist in the game, do I need a custom model to be created and attached to it using trigger? Sorry for my poor english.

    May I know how to justify simple and complicated attachment?
     
  6. noob

    noob

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    687
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You can add attachments with abilities and abilities can require an upgrade before working.
    The sphere ability for example allows to add attachments and not many other effects.(add the requirement "your upgrade here")
    If you want to reflect damage too then the spike ability works
     
  7. Ken Christopher

    Ken Christopher

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    245
    Resources:
    2
    Icons:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Alright. I will try and see. Thank you very much for your help and advice.