• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Best way to store stats for large amounts of units

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
Hello Hive,

I'm a novice mapmaker who is now trying to study up on things and learn to use the Map Editor for what it's really worth.

I've taken a few cracks at trying to use a triggered combat system, (abilities that deal damage based on stats, using stats for attacks and defense), but there's one single problem that I keep facing, and that is how to store stats for a large amount of units. A large amount being somewhere around 80+.

It was easy when I planned on only using stats for the players' heroes, I just used array variables and got the player number to retrieve the stored data. But I KNOW there is a more efficient way than making a variable with an array size of 80+.

I want the triggers to look something like:
"Casting Unit deals damage to Target Unit equal to Casting Unit's Strength * Target Unit's Armor Reduction Value"

I've heard a little bit of information about hash tables. Is that the sort of thing I'm looking for, to store and save information based on the unit type?

Level 4
I suppose you have a point with that, but I guess what my REAL problem is lies with the fact that I don't know how to get the data based on the unit type. I can set Armor/Str/Int values to every unit, one by one, but how do I retrieve those stats in a trigger? For example, if the Armor value of a Ghoul is set in the variable "Armor[45]", and "Armor[45] = .31", how do I plug that into the trigger like the one in my first post?