• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

AOE Pause

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Joined
Sep 27, 2013
Messages
18
Hello
I created a custom AOE spell, I want trigger that whoever is hit by this AOE spell is paused for a specific time

I created such trigger but the problem is it pause who is targeted by the AOE circle middle dot, and not who is hit by the AOE circle, if you get my point

Any help?
 
Level 2
Joined
Sep 27, 2013
Messages
18
  • CustomTrigger
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Starts the effect of an ability
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
        • If - Conditions
          • (Ability being cast) Equal to MySpell
        • Then - Actions
          • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
            • If - Conditions
              • (Unit-type of (Triggering unit)) Equal to MyCharater
            • Then - Actions
              • Set TempGroup[(Player number of (Triggering player))] = (Units within 200.00 of (Position of (Target unit of ability being cast)) matching (((Owner of (Matching unit)) is an enemy of (Owner of (Triggering unit))) Equal to True))
              • Unit Group - Pick every unit in TempGroup[(Player number of (Triggering player))] and do (Actions)
                • Loop - Actions
                  • Unit - Pause (Picked unit)
                  • Special Effect - Create a special effect attached to the overhead of (Picked unit) using Abilities\Spells\Human\Thunderclap\ThunderclapTarget.mdl
              • Wait 2.50 seconds
            • Else - Actions
        • Else - Actions
 
Level 22
Joined
Aug 27, 2013
Messages
3,973
is this what you want?

  • Cast
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Starts the effect of an ability
    • Conditions
      • (Ability being cast) Equal to -Test-
    • Actions
      • Set Caster = (Triggering unit)
      • Set Target = (Target unit of ability being cast)
      • Set TempPoint = (Position of Target)
      • Set Group = (Units within 200.00 of TempPoint matching ((((Matching unit) is alive) Equal to True) and (((Matching unit) belongs to an enemy of (Owner of Caster)) Equal to True)))
      • Unit Group - Pick every unit in Group and do (Actions)
        • Loop - Actions
          • Set TempUnit = (Picked unit)
          • Unit - Create 1 Dummy for (Owner of Caster) at TempPoint facing Default building facing degrees
          • Unit - Add Stun to (Last created unit)
          • Unit - Order (Last created unit) to Human Mountain King - Storm Bolt TempUnit
          • Unit - Cause Caster to damage TempUnit, dealing Damage[(Level of -Test- for Caster)] damage of attack type Spells and damage type Normal
      • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_TempPoint)
      • Custom script: call DestroyGroup(udg_Group)
 

Attachments

  • -Test-.w3x
    18.3 KB · Views: 57
Level 2
Joined
Sep 27, 2013
Messages
18
Thanks @Rheiko but I still can't target everyone inside the AOE because I'm using distance rather than target point

I'm new to triggers, can you tell me how can I do this? @Maker @Legal_Ease

EDIT:
No Need Anymore, I created a variable, thank you guys
 
Level 5
Joined
Aug 9, 2012
Messages
119
anyway what pause do u mean? stun paused or pause like Chronosphere ability?


and what do you mean by distance? there are specific spell type u can tell...
- unit target
- target point
- area of effect
and combination of those,
u can see that in channel ability....


if you use distance like point target and u want to pick evryone in that area?
u can set

Set Group = (Units within 200.00 of Targetpointofabilitybeingcast(into var) matching ((((Matching unit) is alive) Equal to True) and (((Matching unit) belongs to an enemy of (Owner of Caster)) Equal to True)))
 
Level 2
Joined
Sep 27, 2013
Messages
18
Thank you but I already fixed my issue, everyone helped me
This thread can be closed
Thanks again
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top