1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[Trigger] AOE Pause

Discussion in 'Triggers & Scripts' started by wereguy2, Nov 10, 2008.

  1. wereguy2

    wereguy2

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    OK, this is probably pretty simple, but how do I make a channeled AOE spell (Blizzard) pause all enemies within its effect...

    Thanks!
     
  2. cHeRoL

    cHeRoL

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    655
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Put a stun buff.
     
  3. DarkAngelAzazel

    DarkAngelAzazel

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,308
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Use a trigger which picks every unit in range of "radius of the blizzard area" from target point of ability being cast and pause it.
     
  4. MistAssass

    MistAssass

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    378
    Resources:
    5
    Models:
    2
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    5
    • My Spell
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit Begins channeling an ability
      • Conditions
        • (Ability being cast) Equal to Blizzard
      • Actions
        • Unit - Create 1 Dummy for Neutral Passive at (Target point of ability being cast) facing Default building facing degrees
        • Unit - Order (Last created unit) to Orc Tauren Chieftain - War Stomp


    This will make your ability go smooth ! :thumbs_up:
    Dummy <= a dummy unit that has its scaling value 0 (use SHIFT + ENTER when entering the 0 value), and needs to have 0 movement speed, no attack and the locust ability ! :wink:
    Neutral Passive because if its owned by you it will change your food capacity ... or you can make dummy's food cost 0

    I cannot be more exact than that ! it should work in first try ! good luck !!!
     
  5. doom_sheep

    doom_sheep

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    765
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    u can just write "asdfg" on the model field :p
     
  6. The_Silent

    The_Silent

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,900
    Resources:
    159
    Models:
    49
    Icons:
    89
    Packs:
    8
    Skins:
    12
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    159
    1) You should make the point were you summon the unit a Variable, and destroy it when the it has stunned all the units.

    2)You should add a Expiration Timer

    3) To spare room, you should just add the abillity you want to stun the units with (Like no-damage warstomp) to the dummy, so you in a big game don't have to create more than 1 dummy unit

    Like This:

    • Your Trigger
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit Begins channeling an abillity
      • Conditions
        • (Abillity being cast) Equal to Blizzard
      • Actions
        • Set Loc = (Target point of abillity being Cast)
        • Unit - Create 1 [Dummy Unit] for (Owner of(Casting Unit)) at Loc Facing Defaut Facing degrees.
        • Unit - Add a 1 second Generic expiration timer to (Last created unit)
        • Unit - Add [No-Damage Warstomp] to (Last created unit)
        • Unit - Order (last Created Unit) to Orc Tauren Chieftain - War Stomp
        • Custom Script: call RemoveLocation(udg_loc)


    This would remove all caused lag :)
     
  7. MistAssass

    MistAssass

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    378
    Resources:
    5
    Models:
    2
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    5
    .................
     
  8. wereguy2

    wereguy2

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    OK, thanks!
    But there's one minor problem, blizzard is a channeled spell (So is the one I am trying to make), yet if the caster walks away, the spell keeps going, how can I fix this and also make units entering the area become stunned too. Also, is Custom Script: call RemoveLocation(udg_loc) necessary?
    +Rep to everyone who helped (or tried to, yes even cHeRoL)
    Thanks!
     
  9. doom_sheep

    doom_sheep

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    765
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    stops channeling -> remove buff
     
  10. wereguy2

    wereguy2

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    ... trigger please ...
     
  11. doom_sheep

    doom_sheep

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    765
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Stops casting an ability
    • Conditions
      • (Ability being cast) Equal to [ability]
    • Actions
      • Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units within [aoe] of (Target point of ability being cast)) and do (Actions)
        • Loop - Actions
          • Unit - Remove [buff] buff from (Picked unit)


    if this doesnt work u need to store the target point in a variable
     
  12. wereguy2

    wereguy2

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Hmm, that would probably work but that would mean that units normally stunned are unstunned too... K, Ill try it
     
  13. doom_sheep

    doom_sheep

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    765
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    give it a different stunbuff.

    EDIT: if there are many players and they cast at the same area that would bugg D:

    u could do a dummy unit at the target when its casted and when he stops casting, kill the dummy and if there arent other dummies in aoe unpause the units.

    except u would need to unpause them all then pause the ones at the other dummies' aoe again @_@
     
  14. wereguy2

    wereguy2

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Ah yes, lol, I didn't think of that, there actually already is a dummy unit involved xD.
    Ok, now I just need units Entering the area to be stunned...
    PS I gave you +rep
     
  15. doom_sheep

    doom_sheep

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    765
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    copying voids ulti are you?

    i cant think of any other way to stun entering units than checking if theres someone in range who isnt stunned. this would create lag so u probably should add them in a group when they are stunned
     
  16. wereguy2

    wereguy2

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Ok, I tried your method and it didnt work, its probably because the Event is A unit Stops CASTING an ability...
     
  17. doom_sheep

    doom_sheep

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    765
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    i did a similiar spell before. i think its the point
     
  18. wereguy2

    wereguy2

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    ... well, any help from anyone?
     
  19. YO_MA_MA

    YO_MA_MA

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    can u just select any unit with the blizzard buff and pause that unit, else unpause.


    • Blizzard effects
      • Events
        • Time - Every 1.00 seconds of game time
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
          • If - Conditions
            • ((Triggering unit) has buff Blizzard) Equal to True
          • Then - Actions
            • Unit - Pause (Triggering unit)
          • Else - Actions
            • Unit - Unpause (Triggering unit)


    maybe?
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2008
  20. doom_sheep

    doom_sheep

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    765
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    i did it by making an array of 9000 and giving a unit a custom value thats same as his dummy's. is kind of complicated but i can post a map with it if u want.