1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

animation edit help

Discussion in 'Modeling & Animation' started by karland90, Mar 14, 2010.

  1. karland90

    karland90

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    959
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    could anyone please guide me on how to edit the animations of an existing unit?

    e.g. in this request thread, i have cut out all of the unnecessary parts of fairy dragon, leaving only wings and i optimized it.

    now i want to turn the model to -90 degrees in the Y-axis, but then the animations would be messed up. i could move each bone individually, but i somehow doubt that it would give me the desired results.


    i am asking if there is a way to rotate & move animations of an existing model.
     
  2. Argus

    Argus

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    Well you could create a bone with the rotation and make it parent of all other bones. I think that would work.
     
  3. karland90

    karland90

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    959
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    how do i rotate a bone? i think the answer lies in the node editor of mago's model editor, but i couldnt find the right thing
     
  4. Argus

    Argus

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    It's complicated, here try this.
    EDIT: Ok, here's how I did it.
    I made a new bone, opened rotation and entered the stand animations starting frame (167) followed by a ":" and then I used an Oinkerwinkle tool to find out what value to enter and entered it (Make sure you remove the comma at the end or the new value won't save). Then I made the new bone parent of the other bones. That's it.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 14, 2010