• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[General] Am I using arrays/player groups/unit groups correctly? (Example shown)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
Hello, I'm new to the map making scene. I've read many tutorials and think I understand the use of variables, arrays, etc. fairly well. I am getting pretty far into developing my first map and I've run into a few issues along the way that have led me to point towards one common factor - I may not understand how arrays interact as much as I'd hoped. I was hoping someone could look at what I am doing briefly and tell me why/why not it works/doesn't work, etc.

TLDR: I am concerned about my ignorance regarding a specific unit array, a player group, and a unit group & how to use them.

1) Hero Selection: The biggest red flag for me all points back to how the game starts. 1-5 players can play, there are currently 5 heroes (eventually more) available for selection. Upon selection, a hero is set as the value for "PlayerUnit[PlayerNumber(of the person selecting)]." That "PlayerUnit" array is 1 of the 3 parts of my design that I am concerned may be causing issues. The other 2:​