1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Choose your ride to damnation in the 5th Special Effect Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The winners of the 13th Techtree Contest have been announced!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The 13th Music Contest Poll is up! Vote for the best tracks in this symphony of frost and flame.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Add "Locust"?

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by splashy5, Apr 21, 2010.

  1. splashy5

    splashy5

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    is their any way to add the Locust ability w/ triggers? in the Unit-Add Ability you cant find it in there, so is their any other way to add it to the unit w/o having it on it in the first place?
     
  2. Pharaoh_

    Pharaoh_

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    8,128
    Resources:
    11
    Icons:
    3
    Skins:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    11
    Go to Actions, and scroll to "Custom script". Then, type this: "call UnitAddAbility (GetTriggerUnit(), 'Aloc')". So, this, would look like this in the Editor:
    • Custom script: call UnitAddAbility (GetTriggerUnit(), 'Aloc')

    GetTriggerUnit() is the equivalent of Triggering Unit in GUI.
     
  3. Berb

    Berb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Resources:
    2
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Use custom script. If you had a unit variable (from the GUI variable editor) named YourUnit the code necessary would be:

    Code (Text):
    call UnitAddAbility(udg_YourUnit, 'Aloc')
    You butt-munch.
     
  4. splashy5

    splashy5

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  5. Berb

    Berb

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Resources:
    2
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    He hadn't replied when I was typing up my reply, and by the time the page refreshed I see he got to it before me :p
     
  6. BagOfChips

    BagOfChips

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    187
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Can't see why you'd want to add it to triggering unit in most cases (if it's for an ability)

    • Custom script: call UnitAddaBility (GetLastCreatedUnit(), 'Aloc')
    if you want to add it to a created dummy unit :)
     
  7. Pharaoh_

    Pharaoh_

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    8,128
    Resources:
    11
    Icons:
    3
    Skins:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    11
    I know, it's an example; believe it or not though, I used to add locust to some caster though, because I wanted to disable him from being controlled afterwards (campaign related issue). ;)
     
  8. BagOfChips

    BagOfChips

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    187
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I knew it was an example, but not everyone knows how to find the jass equiv of some of the gui thingamajiggers. Thought I'd save him some google time if he wanted to add it to a dummy unit.
     
  9. Bribe

    Bribe

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    8,125
    Resources:
    25
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    25
    GetLastCreatedUnit()
    is some embellished crap Blizzard through in the code to try to make it seem like GetTriggerUnit() or GetAttacker(). It's not. That facade of a script only returns the value "bj_lastCreatedUnit" which only applies if the unit was created through an embellished BJ function to begin with! :D

    People using GUI who create units with the useless CreateNUnitsAtLoc function would do better to reference bj_lastCreatedUnit instead of GetLastCreatedNonsense
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2010
  10. BagOfChips

    BagOfChips

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    187
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    umad bro?

    If it works it works. Don't think anyone will take your advice when you insult them.
     
  11. Bribe

    Bribe

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    8,125
    Resources:
    25
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    25
    How in the world did you see that as an insult to you? If anything, it's an insult to Blizzard, and they really don't care.
     
  12. BagOfChips

    BagOfChips

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    187
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    "GUI noobies"

    Thought that was directed at myself or the OP.
     
  13. Bribe

    Bribe

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    8,125
    Resources:
    25
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    10
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    9
    Resources:
    25
    Noobies is not an insulting word in my vocabulary. Sorry you took it that way, that's completely not what I meant. To me it's just slang for people learning the ropes.
     
  14. BagOfChips

    BagOfChips

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    187
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    newb = new

    noob = bad

    That's the general consensus, I think.
     
  15. Pharaoh_

    Pharaoh_

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    8,128
    Resources:
    11
    Icons:
    3
    Skins:
    1
    Spells:
    6
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    11
    BagOfChips, I see what you mean, but I can assure you Bribe's intentions are good :)
     
  16. Sorceress

    Sorceress

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,025
    Resources:
    1
    Template:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    You will use this for a maze/escape? :)