• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

action/hack and slash mods, is that possible?

Level 4

Guys, I'm completely new to programming and game engines and so I don't know if it's possible, but can you make mods for Warcraft 3 in an action/hack and slash gameplay?? I don't know if you know a game called Spartan Total Warrior, on PS2 and nowadays on cell phones, it seems perfect for Warcraft mods in an action/hack and slash gameplay... is that possible?

About Spartan Total Warrior:

Guys, I'm completely new to programming and game engines and so I don't know if it's possible, but can you make mods for Warcraft 3 in an action/hack and slash gameplay?? I don't know if you know a game called Spartan Total Warrior, on PS2 and nowadays on cell phones, it seems perfect for Warcraft mods in an action/hack and slash gameplay... is that possible?​

About Spartan Total Warrior:​

Yes, you'll be surprised what wc3 even reforged can do.

Last edited:

Uncle

Warcraft Moderator
Level 64
It's an RTS engine, and a 20 year old one at that, it's not designed for anything other than RTS games. A game that's meant to be played with a controller that relies on fast input and chained together combos will feel fairly unresponsive on this engine. That being said, it's definitely still possible and if done right you could make something fun.

Here's a great example:
I remember playing this a while back and thinking how impressive everything was - minus the controls, but that was due to the engine's limitations and not a fault of the mapmaker.