• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Basic Digital Art in Photoshop

Mad

Mad

Level 15
SEwQ5Ww.png

Banner by Roland

Hello there! This tutorial is under construction; I've posted this since I wanted to make sure I don't lose the work I've done so far. The thought of this tutorial is to go from the very basics of photoshop and how you set it up to some techniques when you're drawing. :)
I'd really appriciate feedback, especially how I can deal with the layout.

Difficulty - Easy
Tools - Drawing tablet, Computer and Photoshop cs6 (will probably work on earlier versions as well)

Hello, I'm known as Mad or McFjury and I'm an amateur digital artist.
Even though I'm not really that experienced, I still got some knowledge that I want to share.
In this tutorial, I'm going to start with the basics in photoshop cs6 (and probably other versions as well) and try to finish with how I make my icons.
English is not my native language, so I'm sorry if there is any errors in the text.

Table of Content

1- Setup
1.1 Equipment
1.2 Workplace
1.3 Downloads
1.4 Keybinds
1.5 Canvas

2- Painting
2.1 Style; Cartoon
2.2 Style; Cartoon (again)
2.3 Style; Sculpt

1.- Setup

1.1 Equipment
Because people tend to ask.

PTH651_800x600_Gallery_1.jpg

Wacom Intuos 5

I'm currently using a Wacom Intuos 5 when I'm drawing stuff. But I had a Wacom Bamboo Fun Pen & Touch earlier and it certainly did it's job. The difference between the two tablets would be the sensibillity and the amount of buttons on intuos. But the sensibillity is barely noticable, so if you're starting out and considering what tablet to buy, I'd say that the Bamboo is more price-worthy since it is a lot cheaper and still stays strong.