1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Where is Map Lua code used at runtime?

Discussion in 'Triggers & Scripts' started by Eklose, Oct 13, 2019.

  1. Eklose

    Eklose

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hello,

    I'm very new to coding in general, please excuse if I have any misunderstanding about how these things work.

    From what I have read in other posts on this site, World Editor will change (compile?) all JASS code to Lua when using Lua as the base scripting language for a given map. Has anyone figured a way to see the post-compiled code to see the syntax used in Lua?

    If this information were readily accessible, then new coders could better self-teach on rudimentary issues the same as what I have read some have done with the "Convert to custom script" function for JASS.

    Cheers all!
     
  2. Pyrogasm

    Pyrogasm

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,901
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    It's literally Lua as found anywhere else (google for tutorials). All functions in common.j and Blizzard.j can also be called in Lua.
     
  3. Tasyen

    Tasyen

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,300
    Resources:
    16
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    7
    Tutorials:
    4
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    16
    One can export the map's script inside world editor in menu file, which will be in the language one did setup, jass or Lua, but that create script file will be the total maps script not only one trigger. Or one can use a mpq editor and extract war3map.lua from the map.
     
  4. Eklose

    Eklose

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    The total map export was what I was looking for. I can use ctrl + f to find a trigger quickly. This should greatly speed up the learning process, many thanks @Tasyen.