• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Where can I find info/documentation on custom maps?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
I recently got really into custom games. I am downloading maps I liked playing so I could host, custom campaigns etc.

But there are a couple of things that really confuse me
1. Where is all the documentation? I am a programmer so a vast selection of 3rd party software is not foreign to me. However, almost every library in programming (the good ones at least) comes with documentation. That is, a readme file which explains how to operate every part of the software, a changelog, a list of bugs etc.
I can only find .w3x map files, but no readme files. Like, if a map crashes, how am I supposed to debug the problem?
2. Why are there so many versions of the same map? There can be 5 different LTA maps, all 1.59b, all under same author. And there is no consistency - a map may jump from v9 to v15. Were the versions between not released? Where's the missing piece?
3. Where does all the development happen? Github? Do people that mod even use version control?

Ralle

Owner
Level 77
Haha, I can understand your confusion.

Well, first of all. Many people came to modding WC3 the same ways kids learn to speak, with trial and error. But there are many good resources out there. One thing you can be sure about is that everyone uses World Editor. It comes with WC3 and allows you to edit maps. You can make GUI triggers that you will learn to understand by just trying them out for a while. Later you can get into JASS, or as you're a programmer, you might start there.

We have a tutorials section by the way:
WarCraft III Tutorials