1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Dismiss Notice
  5. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

.W3D To .MDX

Discussion in 'Modeling & Animation' started by Polar_Bear, Feb 1, 2006.

  1. Polar_Bear

    Polar_Bear

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Hey I have a question about converting .W3D files into .MDX or .MDL .. if it is possible then i would like to get some info on that and maby some help!
     
  2. Pike

    Pike

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    126
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    You can import - export any other game models to Warcraft, but you need a plugin that works for both games. First you need to import the model to your modeling program and export it to mdx/mdl.

    You would only need to change the animations, particles and textures if they're not using the same controllers.
     
  3. Jacek

    Jacek

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,291
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    .w3d? is it original wolfenstein 3d format? ^_^ sry can't import that :roll:
     
  4. Polar_Bear

    Polar_Bear

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    .w3d is the format which LOTR : BFME models use! which is the same as CC: Generals
     
  5. Bob27

    Bob27

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3,028
    Resources:
    12
    Maps:
    6
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    12
    W3D Importer This plugin works for both Gmax and 3DS Max and will allow you to import models from the game into the modeling program. It will also import animations. I found this to be the best W3D importer avaliable.

    And if you want 2 export models from bfme I would surgest dling the demo for bfme2. Then you can get some nice little Elves, Dwarves and Goblins.