• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Using a spellbook instead of Hero Skills

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 12
Could I use a spellbook in place of the hero skills button and have abilities that level the skills I want? This could, theoretically, make a hero with more than 5 abilities, but I'm very new to spellbooks.

In my particular case, hero abilities don't actually exist. The abilities are unit abilities that get added by other means. However, hero skill points are used to increase attributes as you please. Basically, you get 2 skill points per level and you can level up strength, agility, or intelligence as you please.

Now I ran into as problem with hero skills already. I couldn't find a way to make it so you can level up a hero ability to a higher level than the hero level, so putting both points into strength each level is impossible. My workaround for this was to make it so learning the skills increases the stat with a trigger and the hero skill actually does nothing and then I made it so the ability gets set to level 1 again after you've learned it. The hero skills were dropped to 2 levels each, which was nice.