1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Units acting on their own

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by mecatronic, Aug 5, 2009.

  1. mecatronic

    mecatronic

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Here's my problem: I tried to create a system where the host can add computer slots to his team, and when the game starts there's an extra hero selector for each computer, and it shares its units' control with all human players.

    Ok, it worked as I wanted. With the exception that the hero controlled units use their spells on their own! They use roar and howl of terror as if they had an AI controlling them.

    I don't know anything about AI (or how to disable it), and I can't even identify if it's really an AI.

    Can you guys help me?

    Thanks.


    EDIT: after more testing, i noticed that the computer is indeed using default actions like casting war stomp when there are more than 3 units near it. Is there a way to turn this "feature" off?
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2009
  2. Hadhafang

    Hadhafang

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    133
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'm not sure whether it is a feature, the only reason I can think of it doing that is because the abilities have auto-cast on them. Check through your unit editor on the spells section and make sure none of the abilities have auto-cast on, also check through your triggers as you may be running an AI script for the hero player even when he's not got a computer controlling him.
     
  3. mecatronic

    mecatronic

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    actually THERE IS a computer controlling it. It has a computer using that player slot, it just shares control with other players. What I'm trying to do is simply disable that computer from controlling the hero, perhaps disabling the AI for only this hero.
     
  4. Hadhafang

    Hadhafang

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    133
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yeah, you'll need to turn off the AI on that hero or modify the AI script if you don't want it using abilities.
     
  5. Urwaldbewohner

    Urwaldbewohner

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    In the Standerd meele Intialising in an Action called "Run Meele KI script" just turn it off.
     
  6. Battle_Shipper

    Battle_Shipper

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Alternatively, you could always make a trigger to detect when the AI casts those spells and order it to stop like so:

    • Disable AI
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit Begins casting an ability
      • Conditions
        • Or - Any (Conditions) are true
          • Conditions
            • (Ability being cast) Equal to Roar
            • (Ability being cast) Equal to Howl of Terror
        • ((Owner of (Triggering unit)) controller) Equal to Computer
      • Actions
        • Unit - Order (Triggering unit) to Stop
    Be sure to add all the spells you don't want the AI to cast in the "Or" conditions.

    Edit:

    No, thats for melee games...
     
  7. manstie

    manstie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    847
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    No. Even if you do delete the meele initialization triggers, it still casts it. The only things that computers don't cast automatically are custom skills.