• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

Unit go on gras = dead, without regions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
24
//edit: now work all but:
my spell dont do any dmg -.-
it is active but why it dont do damage?
 
Last edited:
Level 9
Joined
Jan 14, 2008
Messages
366
just create invisible, invulnerable static units for neutral hostile player, and give them immolation that targets your specific unittype/classification only and does not display effect but kills instantly.
 
Level 11
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
698
  • Deadly Grass!
    • Events
      • Time - Every 0.01 seconds of game time
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units in (Playable map area) matching ((Terrain type at (Position of (Picked unit))) Equal to Lordaeron Summer - Grass)) and do (Unit - Kill (Matching unit))
:D

didnt test but should work fine.
might wanna do this for the action tho
  • Action
  • Player Group - Pick every player in (All allies of Player 1 (Red)) and do (Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units owned by (Picked player) matching ((Terrain type at (Position of (Picked unit))) Equal to Lordaeron Summer - Grass)) and do (Unit - Kill (Matching unit)))
it looks like ur creating a maze but idk. This action will just make it so only units on a certain team (in this case allies of player one) will die in the grass.
 
Level 11
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
780
no. its matching. pick every unit in watever group and then units matching condition kill matching unit, not picked, kill picked unit = kill all whether they in grass or not. pls read the trigger more carefully

Pick every unit matching conditions PICKS all of the units that matches those conditions... so it PICKS units so you have to kill PICKED unit

try and then post
 
Level 11
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
698
well, there is a condition because after all it does say "units matching condition". and idk the little description of matching unit says "use this to refer to the unit being considered for 'Units Matching Condition' functions" which is the function that i used. but maybe either of them would work but idk
 
Level 11
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
698
ok well i tried it both ways nether work. AND DO NOT TRY THIS:

  • Deadly Grass!
    • Events
    • Time - Every 0.01 seconds of game time
    • Conditions
    • Actions
    • Unit Group - BAD!!! >>>>>>Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units in (Playable map area)<<<<<<<< EVIL!!!
    • Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units in (Playable map area) matching ((Terrain type at (Position of (Picked unit))) Equal to Lordaeron Summer - Grass)) and do (Unit - Kill (Matching unit))
THIS WILL FREEZE YOUR COMPUTER WITH NO MERCY!!!! SO DONT TRY THIS ONE
the reason i tried it because of the ((Terrain type at (Position of (Picked unit))) part of my trigger, i thought wait a minute there werent any units picked yet to match to the condition! So i picked every unit. This just killed all units on map and froze my screen. I tried ctrl alt delete, alt f4, alt qq, alt tab, start shortcut, EVERYTHING, so i had to restart >.<
 
Level 11
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
780
matching unit is alive = true... and even though... you are still using kill matching unit <- perhaps the reason for all of your units to die... dont you think so?

wanna know what the freeze is about?

1 unit group leak every 0.01 seconds that means 60 leaks per second which will collapse your RAM
 
Level 21
Joined
Aug 21, 2005
Messages
3,699
ok well i tried it both ways nether work. AND DO NOT TRY THIS:

  • Deadly Grass!
    • Events
    • Time - Every 0.01 seconds of game time
    • Conditions
    • Actions
    • Unit Group - BAD!!! >>>>>>Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units in (Playable map area)<<<<<<<< EVIL!!!
    • Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units in (Playable map area) matching ((Terrain type at (Position of (Picked unit))) Equal to Lordaeron Summer - Grass)) and do (Unit - Kill (Matching unit))
THIS WILL FREEZE YOUR COMPUTER WITH NO MERCY!!!! SO DONT TRY THIS ONE
the reason i tried it because of the ((Terrain type at (Position of (Picked unit))) part of my trigger, i thought wait a minute there werent any units picked yet to match to the condition! So i picked every unit. This just killed all units on map and froze my screen. I tried ctrl alt delete, alt f4, alt qq, alt tab, start shortcut, EVERYTHING, so i had to restart >.<

Why do you swap "picked unit" and "matching unit"?

  • Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units in (Playable map area) matching ((Terrain type at (Position of (Matching unit))) Equal to Lordaeron Summer - Grass)) and do (Unit - Kill (Picked unit))
End discussion.
 
Level 11
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
698
ok forget bout all that other stuff this is the real trigger that you want:

  • Untitled Trigger 002
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Is issued an order targeting a point
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Wait until ((Terrain type at (Position of (Ordered unit))) Equal to Lordaeron Summer - Dirt), checking every 0.10 seconds
      • Unit - Kill (Ordered unit)
I tested this out and it works fine. I have no idea if it leaks cuz im not really an expert on leaks, but this should accomplish what you want, just change the terrain type to whatever you want.
Hopefully Darkrider approves of it >.<
 
Level 11
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
780
not at all... that wait for condition action is crappy and must not be used...

just do it this way

  • Untitled Trigger 002
    • Events
      • Time - Every 0.10 seconds of game time
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Set UnitGroup = (Units in (Playable map area) matching (((Matching unit) is alive) Equal to True))
      • Unit Group - Pick every unit in UnitGroup and do (Actions)
        • Loop - Actions
          • Set Point = (Position of (Picked unit))
          • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
            • If - Conditions
              • (Terrain type at Point) Equal to Lordaeron Summer - Grass
            • Then - Actions
              • Unit - Kill (Picked unit)
            • Else - Actions
          • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_Point)
      • Custom script: call DestroyGroup(udg_UnitGroup)
EDIT: you had another leak here Position of (Picked unit))) that means that you had 120 Leaks per second... thats the coz of the freez
 
Last edited:
Level 21
Joined
Aug 21, 2005
Messages
3,699
A leak is a variable which stays in memory that you've lost reference to. By losing reference to that variable, there's no way you can ever remove it and will thus consume memory while not being used. However, by destroying it, you really DESTROY it. For instance: a player variable could theoretically leak (although in wc3 it doesn't) but if you would be able to destroy a player variable, that player would literally be destroyed, as in "gone". Obviously, you can't destroy players in warcraft 3 because, really, you don't want to.

Anything that isn't a:
- boolean
- integer
- real
- string
must be removed in one way or another. Units are automatically removed when they decay or when you use the "unit - remove unit" action, so you don't really have to bother about unit leaks. However, leaks such as locations, unit groups, player groups, etc. are pretty important because they are used frequently and can cause a real performance drop.
 
Level 3
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
24
I cant make your Triggers working but i found a nice by myself:
  • toedliches Gras
    • Ereignisse
      • Zeit - Every 0.01 seconds of game time
    • Bedingungen
      • (Terrain type at (Position of Miliz 0001 <gen>)) Gleich Lordaeron-Sommer - Erde
    • Aktionen
      • Einheit - Kill Miliz 0001 <gen>
 
Level 11
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
780
(Terrain type at (Position of Miliz 0001 <gen>)) Gleich Lordaeron-Sommer - Erde

as i said... read about leaks... if you do that trigger that way... at some point it might create lag in your game

you can do this

  • actions
  • Set "variable of type point" = (position of Miliz 0001 <gen>)
    • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
      • If - Conditions
        • (Terrain type at "same variable of type point as before") Equal to Lordaeron Summer - Grass
      • Then - Actions
        • Einheit - Kill Miliz 0001 <gen>
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top