1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice
  4. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. The Highway to Hell has been laid open. Come along and participate in the 5th Special Effect Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Turrets

Discussion in 'Modeling & Animation' started by davylink, Oct 23, 2005.

  1. davylink

    davylink

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I want to do some tanks for my mod, but I need that the tanks have turrets moving by itself for targeting. I have seen something about bone_turret, but I don't know how it works.
    Can anybody help me?
    Thank you :wink:
     
  2. abriko

    abriko

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Resources:
    6
    Models:
    4
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    have you read pdf file in art tools ? Start by that.
     
  3. noir

    noir

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hmmm.
    This is a good idea :wink:
     
  4. davylink

    davylink

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I have read about turrets in the pdf documentation of the warcraft 3 art tools, but I haven't undesrstood it very well. Do you know how can it be done?
    I've tried to create a model with the bone_turret, but it doesn't do anything in the game.
    Thank you! :wink:
     
  5. abriko

    abriko

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Resources:
    6
    Models:
    4
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    what are you doing exactly when you say "to create a model with the bone_turret" ?
     
  6. Pike

    Pike

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    126
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I thought that only buildings used that bone to rotate like the Ancient Protector does.
     
  7. davylink

    davylink

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    A model like a tank or a defensive turret. The base should be stopped when attacking and only the turret spins to the target.
     
  8. Mecheon

    Mecheon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,974
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    10
    Resources:
    10
    You can't have a base face one direction and have a turret face what is being attacked with a unit. Incoded Warcraft thing forces the unit to always face the enemy, but not buildings
     
  9. abriko

    abriko

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Resources:
    6
    Models:
    4
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    lol you can... just look at my avatar... it has bone_turret and it works. Stop say bullshits plz.
     
  10. Mecheon

    Mecheon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,974
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    10
    Resources:
    10
    Acthala, Siege Mode Siege Tanks are buildings by my definition of Warcraft things

    Unit: Footman, Steam Tank, Firelord, Zergling
    Building: Cannon Tower, Siege Mode Siege Tank, Barracks

    I said UNITS, as in things you can move around without having to transform them into something else. Normal mode siege tanks can have a bone_turret, I'll give you that, but their base will still rotate to face the enemy thanks to Warcraft coding

    Unless you're changed said coding, which has nothing at all to do with this topic
     
  11. abriko

    abriko

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Resources:
    6
    Models:
    4
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    did you test it ?
     
  12. abriko

    abriko

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Resources:
    6
    Models:
    4
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    I don't tell about change coding.. just create a unit... put a bone_turret..import it, that's it.
     
  13. Mecheon

    Mecheon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,974
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    10
    Resources:
    10
    So, Abriko, to test this I made a Cannon Tower, the most obvious source of a bone-turret thing I could find, replace a Rifleman

    I must admit it was interesting to see the cannons turn on their own to face the target, however the bases were not happy with being left standing still so they also felt it nessesary to turn, albiet at not the same time as there cannons
     
  14. abriko

    abriko

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    163
    Resources:
    6
    Models:
    4
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    6
    yes.. of course..you have to put 0 on mouvment speed base if not the unit walk to her target.. of course.