• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[Cinematic] To voice act or not to voice act: that is the question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 14
(Apologies if this is the wrong forum)

I am rounding out a campaign that I've been working on for a decade. I think I'm in my final year or two. I cannot decide whether I want to attempt to add voice acting or not, and am interested in some advice. I've listed some of the arguments I've had with myself below:

Reasons to do voice acting:

Cinematic imagery is dulled if you have to focus on reading text. I have some beautiful cinematic shots, but if you're reading text you will miss them.

Some of the dialogue is difficult to follow without enunciation. For example, I want one character to be fairly sarcastic, but that does not come across without voice acting.

Believable dialogue cannot be done well in text. (e.g. reading Quinton Tarantino's scripts doesn't work. "A royale with cheese," is not funny unless Samuel Jackson is saying it with a bit of a smirk.) Lack of voice acting necessitates plain, dull, literal dialogue.

I'm afraid the campaign will be seen as incomplete without it.

Reasons to NOT do voice acting:

The campaign is extremely long with dozens of different actors and probably two hours of cinematic scenes. Voice acting would be extremely difficult to do

The sound files would massively expand the size of the campaign.

I sound like Kermit the Frog. I couldn't do any of the voices, meaning I would be entirely dependent on others to finish the game.