• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Terrain Test - Melee Map Test

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 5
So..... I'm New to this whole "map making" thing, and I was wondering if this map has good terraining. This is just a terrain test and I'm uploading it to see what you guys think. Tell me what you think exactly what and what could use improving and some tips if you want. I'll look at every reply.

Attachments

• Terrain Test 1.w3m
    43.5 KB · Views: 41
Not really a good one, but you're new and will learn. You are using rolling shores instead of the blizzard cliffs so that's a good starting point. I suggest you look at different terrain guides on the terraining board and look at the terrain in different maps.

I am attaching an edited version of your map to show an alternative version so you can see how and what you can change to make it look better. This was made really quickly and might not be the best possible terrain, but it is something you can use as a baseline to learn more.

Attachments

• Terrain Test 2.w3x
    77.3 KB · Views: 49
Level 5
Not really a good one, but you're new and will learn. You are using rolling shores instead of the blizzard cliffs so that's a good starting point. I suggest you look at different terrain guides on the terraining board and look at the terrain in different maps.

I am attaching an edited version of your map to show an alternative version so you can see how and what you can change to make it look better. This was made really quickly and might not be the best possible terrain, but it is something you can use as a baseline to learn more.