Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Team Color & Transparency?

Discussion in 'Texturing & Surfacing' started by HerrDave, Oct 28, 2014.

  1. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    Is it possible for both the team-color and transparent 'states'(?) to occupy the same geoset? Example of what I am trying to do below

    [​IMG]

    Is the Wc3 engine capable of having a team color & sections cut out of it?
     
  2. Hayate

    Hayate

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,517
    Resources:
    66
    Models:
    51
    Icons:
    14
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    66
    Seperate that part as another geoset and assign another Material setted to transparent/blend without TC on it
    (and some Wrap Adjustment)
     
  3. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    In the case of the model that I am currently working with, I can't separate it as the piece is too big (;n;)
     
  4. A Void

    A Void

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2,482
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    2
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    7
    Resources:
    10
    You can't, team color in War3 is a one-colored square texture. You can however bypass it and do this method:

    1. Select the area you want to become transparent,
    2. Detach the selected area as a new geoset,
    3. Apply a transparent material to the new geoset.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. HerrDave

    HerrDave

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Resources:
    165
    Models:
    137
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    8
    Resources:
    165
    An excellent suggestion!