• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

Switching weapons temporarily

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 14
I would like to make a hero ability that does the following:

When the hero casts the ability, his weapon is replaced with a flamethrower beam weapon that does more and more damage over time (like the Protoss beam attack). This effect lasts for 30 seconds or so, and then his normal weapon comes back.

I am very new to the editor, but i understand this is not that easy to do. I'd be happy if you could just give an outline of the ability, like:

1. What ability should I base it on?

2. How do I make the ability switch weapons? Do I use restrictions?

And finally, if this is very difficult to do perhaps I should skip it and come back later when I'm more familiar with the editor.

Thank you.

Go to stimpak (marine) (not the redirect version) and left click and duplicate.

Check 'Effects', 'Behaviors > Marine - Stimpack'

Edit your Behavior.

Make Stats - Flags (visible) to false.
Go to 'Weapon - Modification - Weapons enabled' and set it to your fire beam
Go to 'Weapon - Modification - Weapons disabled' and set it to your old beam.
Change all of the modifications back to normal, so your unit doesn't gain speed from the old stimpack stuff.
set 'Stats - Duration' to 30.0 or whatever time you want.

Go to your effect.
Go to Effect - behaviour and set it to the behavior you just made.