1. Head to the 33rd Modeling Contest Poll and drink to your heart's desire.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Choose your means of doom in the 17th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. A slave to two rhythms, the 22nd Terraining Contest is here.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The heavens smile on the old faithful. The 16th Techtree Contest has begun.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The die is cast - the 6th Melee Mapping Contest results have been announced. Onward to the Hive Cup!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The glory of the 20th Icon Contest is yours for the taking!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[Solved] Some questions

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Watcher, Mar 1, 2018.

  1. Watcher

    Watcher

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hi guys,

    I have a few questions regarding some abilities and thingies, which are bothering me and I can't get any workaround solution.

    So lets begin:

    1) Can Sacrifice (ability which turns acolyte into shade) summon any other unit instead of Shade?

    2) Can you somehow upgrade an ability with research?
    I tried, but It just doesn't work. Uploaded 2 pics showing the ability and upgrade configuration.

    Ability.jpg Research.jpg

    3) Can Forked Lightning display custom missiles?

    4) How to attach special effect to Big Bad Voodoo, tried every attachment point field and nothing works.

    5) Can Phoenix Fire ability display icon? Cause it has an icon, but it seems like it never displays it.
     
  2. Daffa

    Daffa

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    8,206
    Resources:
    31
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    9
    Spells:
    18
    Tutorials:
    3
    Resources:
    31
    2) Base it from a hero ability, some unit abilities are bugged with these requirement stuffs
    3) I recall it's using Lightning which is in SLK files. The impact effect is SFX.
    5) It's Hardcoded, same as Orb abilities.
     
  3. Tasyen

    Tasyen

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,656
    Resources:
    36
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    3
    Spells:
    11
    Tutorials:
    19
    JASS:
    1
    Resources:
    36
    1) looks hardcoded, not changeable.
    2) To impove abilties with techs:
    set inside the Tech: Data - Effect "Ability Level bonus", base 0, increment 1.
    And inser the tech into "Techtree - upgrades used" of the unit, now the ability should level up.
    Not all Abilities support multiple leveles.​
    4) The effect displayed for big bad voodoo, is defined inside the buffs the spell is using.
     
  4. Watcher

    Watcher

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    1) Found a "workaround" solution with mount hippogryph ability
    2) It was already based from hero ability: Searing Arrows and ty @Tasyen now it works!
    3) Damn, shitty hardcode...
    4) Now it works! ty again @Tasyen
    5) Damn again, shitty hardcode...

    Ty both for your help guys, +2 rep for both and extra +2 for @Tasyen for giving me solutions for 2) and 4)