• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[Skin Help] How do I preserve teamcolor/transparency?

Status
Not open for further replies.
- I have the archer skin file extracted in .blp format
- I changed it to TGA via blp lap software
- Now I add some drawn markings to it by using photoshop and save it
- When I reconvert it to .blp the team color/transparent parts are made black and on the ingame model they also are included with the model's mesh.
- How do I fix this?

P.S: I'm a noob to skinning models, so bear with me.

I'll give reputation and credits.

Level 6
You should not use Photoshop anymore to import or export your images in TGA. Since Photoshop CC, the alpha channel is no longer saved in TGA. Maybe there are some scripts to fix that and export in TGA with alpha channel, but I never found one myself, so I'm just saving the image in PSD or PNG, open it with Gimp to properly save the image in TGA. Gimp saves in TGA with the alpha channel.

The alpha channel stores the transparency datas of the image.
Unlike an image in PNG for example, the TGA format stores the transparency values of the pixels in a separate channel (using a fusion mask on your layers is the usual way to affect the alpha channel of your image). But that's an option, and you can save in TGA without the alpha channel. And as I said, Photoshop doesn't give you the option anymore : no alpha channel with TGA. (the alpha channel is merged, and pixels who should be 100% transparent turns opaque white)