• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

Shoot an Arrow

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hello, I am making a map that will be a continuation of map known as Archers ES v 4.4 and I need a nice shooting system for arrows. Though I am new to mapmaking but have read a lot of articles about triggers and jass. So I made something that was looking like a good thing, but it appeared to have some problems. For example, using this shoot ability on the bridge makes arrow to fly very hight above archer and bridge. Also it's not very realistic, I really want it to be similiar with shooting system in Elimination Tournament map, but just have no ideas about how to do it.... So I hope very much that some kind man will help me with this. I attached a separate map with shooting system I made and ET map.

Attachments

• Shoot.w3x
    43.3 KB · Views: 64
  • Elimination Tournament 2.w3x
    1.1 MB · Views: 46
Level 26
Give your missile move type none, remove elevation points and elevation radius, max roll and max pitch. Each time you move the missile, adjust the fly height via trigger (subtract the terrain height). Add/Remove ability Raven Form once to enable fly height changes on the unit.

To be more realistic, you should imitate physical laws, for example shoot the arrow in an arc by granting it start speedZ, which gets decreased over time (gravity).

Level 2
Well I meant realistic, but not like real arrows fly, maybe it was a wrong word...I did everything exept adjusting fly height, subtracting the terrain height,because I don't know how to get terrain height and how this will help. Will it make missle fly height undependent from terrain?

GetLocationZ If I recall right is the function to grab the height of terrain.

You'll have to set a variable to it through custom script or JASS.