Rise Of Nations v5.42(p)

This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
If you have ever played my Warring Nations map (http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/maps-564/warring-nations-v1-24-a-112857/?prev=status%3Dp%26u%3DArchangel_Tidusx), this is just a very large extension of the game.
If you have never played the map, which is what I expect; This is an altered melee map.
The special features of this game are as follows:
-A protect-the-king type map
-Builders that require escorts
-Castle wall creation with opening and closing gates
-Multiple race indoctrination
-Multiple custom units
-Stockpile that determines maximum resource limit
-Removed food limit
-Revenue generated from houses
-Custom upgrades
-Beasts
-Unique specialization for each unit

Some of the similarities include:
-Re-edited warcraft units
-Added custom abilities to make every unit necessary
-Original Warcraft terrain from Enkaro's Way
-Research expansion, including multiple new levels for research

I will continue to edit this map as necessary. New updates are soon to come.
Also, I tried my best in crediting everyone for the models and beta testing help.
If I left you out be sure to notify me and i will give you the necessary credit.

Enjoy =]

UPDATE:
Added a respected players list
Updated changelog in map
Added "commands" section to to quest log
Fixed some spelling at the beginning of the game
Added some upkeep levels for different levels of population
Added unit caps for certain units to prevent overmassing
Fixed interval clicks.
Fixed defeated player removal
Added autocast to certain normal abilities
Added an auto-upgrade feature
Fixed some building and upgrade tooltips
Reworked a lot of overlooked balancing issues (mostly with ranged units)
Added 2 towers to use with upcoming Goblin race
Removed Mapmaking entirely
GOBLIN RACE!! (feel free to post more ideas)
Bridge Building
New builders and more models
Fixed unbuildable starting thing
Added Outpost Requirement for Farm
Fixed Goblin Rig ability
FIXED GOBLIN MECHANIC CRASH!
Fixed Marketplace and Goblin Merchant's ability to sell items
Added a bounty for killing a king
Made Farm more useful
Fixed Backpack button position, added Unload ability, and made female laborer a woman




Coming soon:
- Option to stay and help defeater.
- Resurrrect king as super! and many more game modes

Keywords:
Warring, Nations, Altered, Melee, Rise, Of, Nations, WarringNations, RiseOfNations, Archangel, Tidus, Tidusx, ArchangelTidus, ArchangelTidusx
Contents

Rise Of Nations v5.42(p) (Map)

Reviews
13:45, 27th Apr 2009 by bounty hunter2: Approved

Moderator

M

Moderator

13:45, 27th Apr 2009 by bounty hunter2:
Approved
 
Level 1
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
7
Crashing

does this crash after about an hour of play time for anybody else? A couple friends and I all have that problem and one of them has a really good computer.
 
Level 5
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
90
Gameplay
I tried the map, and though there wasn't actually really anything wrong with it, I kinda meh on it. It reminded me a lot of a Builder version of like Vampirism or Genesis of Empires 2, which I haven't decided if that was a good think.

So, first off, lets talk about the number one main problem every Builder map has. Infinite Money. The more mature maps, like Kingdom Conquest, Medieval Builder, and my own Colony Builders, have a sort of income cap. This stops the player from amassing such a large amount of income that he cannot just spam 12 production buildings, set the rally point at his enemies base, and spam troops at the guy until he dies.

Your map doesn't doesn't have a hard income cap. Instead you have a soft income cap in the nature of Stockpiles. Problem is that the cap is very soft. Too soft. Get 2 Warehouses or just 4 Storage Pits, and you'll probably never have to worry about it again. Then just get 60 Huts or 1 Story Houses and you'll have unlimited gold in no time.

The next problem was the Tech-Tree. It's a bit of a mumblefuck. It's huge. You have the Starting Human tech-tree which is around 30 units, 12 buildings, 20 upgrades, and three Tiers before you need the other races. Then you have Orcs, Dwarves, and Elves, who add like another 30 units, 12 buildings, and another 30 upgrades.

This is annoying because once I got to Castle, and it came to looking for the buildings I needed to advance to a Citadel, it was a pain in the ass. I completely forgot about the War Builder, and couldn't find the War Factory between the Human, Dwarven, Orc, and Elven Builders. That's another problem, you've intertwined the racial Tech-Trees, which is more annoying than beneficial. If you look at GoE2, you have access to all the Tech-Trees, but they're in no way intertwined together at all. And trying to maintain several Tech-Trees at a time is extremely hard and extremely stupid. Here, you encourage it. There's no penalty for getting all the Treaties, and a severe penalty for not getting them.

Which brings us to the next problem, the Builders. Vampirism has a lot of Builders. It does. But the difference here between Vampirism and that in Vampirism, once you tier up, you rarely need your former Tier's Builder. You have your Human, but then once you get your Goblin Shredder guy (Vamp Beast), you don't need to bother with your Human outside of repairing unless your base gets owned. Then with the next Builder, you don't need your Shredder anymore. Nothing new is unlocked two Tiers later in your Shredder. In this map, half the stuff is locked away in the War Builder, and you can't access it until you get the Dwarf and Orc guy out. As I said earlier, I had forgotten about him, and when it came to looking for the War Factory, I was just like "Where the fuck is it!?"

If you look at Warcraft 3, every race has about 12 units, and (not counting Upgrade Levels) around 16 upgrades and 10 buildings. Starcraft has around 4 more units than Warcraft 3, but around the same amount of buildings and upgrades. Warcraft 3 and Starcraft are considered to be some of the best RTS games that have ever come out, and emulating them wouldn't be a bad idea. Meaning, streamlining the Tech-Tree would probably be a good idea.

Terrain

Fine I guess. I would have liked something bigger than just 6 players, though. It restricts a map's ability to be used for Clan Games. Play Azeroth Wars: LR with 12 players, then play a game of Europa or Shogun, and then come to your game, and we have to tell half the players to go do something else.

Replayability

You have a shitload of races, upgrades, units, and buildings. Problem is, with infinite income that you can get, this can all by researched/used/built within a single game. That doesn't help Replayability that well.

Closing Comments

I still probably have to try this online. But the simply fact that I could get infinite income really doesn't help the matter. Nor the very low player limit.
 
Level 2
Joined
Nov 19, 2009
Messages
25
sigh lol well that was fun game i just played u cant build outpost it requires food and since farm ( it also provides food) requires food to build with is >.<
 
sigh lol well that was fun game i just played u cant build outpost it requires food and since farm ( it also provides food) requires food to build with is >.<
Just fixed it, sorry guys. It was something I implemented.

EDIT:
Thanks to all for the patience, I have fixed the map and the goblin race and all should be well now!
I appreciate all the help from my dedicated players.
 
Last edited:
i can't load the game when i save it

-_-

It's protected. It is in no way, shape or form openable.

Or do you mean that when you save in singleplayer it won't load?
If that's the case, I have no idea what to tell you. It's in GUI so I can't imagine it not being able to reopen. If u saved in battle.net, maybe your partner isn't present or something.
 
Level 3
Joined
May 2, 2010
Messages
45
It's protected. It is in no way, shape or form openable.

Or do you mean that when you save in singleplayer it won't load?
If that's the case, I have no idea what to tell you. It's in GUI so I can't imagine it not being able to reopen. If u saved in battle.net, maybe your partner isn't present or something.

Yea it won't let me load in singleplay it says "File is currupted or the file does not exist":cry:
 
Top