1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Ride into the sunset with the 32nd Modeling Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. This adventure has come to an end. Congratulate our heroes in the 16th Mini Mapping Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. From the gates of hell, the 5th Special Effect Contest Results have emerged.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[Solved] Removing Unused Models and Textures

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Xanur21, Aug 19, 2016.

  1. Xanur21

    Xanur21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Resources:
    1
    Template:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Hey all

    So I've been working on a series of maps that I'd like to use for a custom campaign, with maps like Hearthglen and Caverns of Time. I've been using UTM 4.0 to create these maps, but I'd like to reduce their size in order to use them in the campaign and also make uploading easier.

    I know how to remove unused models, but how do I know which imported textures are used by certain models and which aren't?

    I'd really appreciate it if someone has a solution for this, seeing as most of the maps' size is also attributed to imported textures and images that could be deleted.

    Thank you in advance.
     
  2. Unregret

    Unregret

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    748
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Because the number of models which not using any separated textures is more than using ones. :D So all you have to do is remove any textures to see if any models which no longer work, then...well you keep that process until you have a list of which ones you need or not. :D
     
  3. Emm-A-

    Emm-A-

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,312
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    this is very tedious, I do it by exporting all models to a folder, then manually load them into magos or convert them to .mdl to check for every model.
    In theory you could write a script that does evaluate them for you, but you have to be able to ^^.
    Unregret's method would work, but you have to reopen the editor to be sure, so I always export the models and check them manually.
     
  4. Xanur21

    Xanur21

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Resources:
    1
    Template:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Hm... Was hoping there was an easier way... :(

    But thank you, both of you. :)