1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Lead your forces to battle in the 15th Techtree Contest. The call is yours, commander!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Questions....

Discussion in 'Map Development' started by Avoh_do_Mal, Aug 24, 2005.

  1. Avoh_do_Mal

    Avoh_do_Mal

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well, I'm back again to post some questions...

    1) Well, I want to make an unit that the flying height (well, will sound stupid, but ok...) is -1150 (Yup, -1150), in the world editor it is like I want, but when I save the map and open it in the Custom Game, its height is "reset" and the unit is above the ground again... Well, what I want to do is this:

    A unit that half is under the floor (Yes...That's it) and half is above the floor... If someone knows how to do that..pls..help me...

    2) I'm working on a map based on arena ones, and I made a Leaderboard, but, then, after some minutes I want it to hide, and then show another one (different of course..) and then ,show it again, but when I use the Show commands, it does not appear again...
    I made it like this...

    Events

    Conditions

    Actions

    Lots of actions...Then...
    Hide Crazy Time Leaderboard
    Show Master Leaderboard
    Turn Off (This Trigger)

    3) There's a place in my map that there's lava , and then, I want to know...

    a) How can I make a unit to be Unselectable?

    b) This unit, will have an abillity called "Lava Buff", 'cause when a unit enters in the Lava Region, the unit will be hit by this abillity, but, the unit does not stop using that abillity, and I just that the "Triggering Unit" be hit once...

    For now its just these.... Sorry if its confusing (i'm brazilian and english is not my strong point...)
     
  2. VGsatomi

    VGsatomi

    Webmaster's Council

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,159
    Resources:
    27
    Models:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Maps:
    25
    Resources:
    27
    You cannot have units go into the floor (or negative height). You can, however, if you alter the height of the .mdx its self, and raise its heigth so it level with the ground, then set it to 0 to make it sink.
    -VGsatomi
     
  3. Avoh_do_Mal

    Avoh_do_Mal

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    XD

    That's too complicated for me, and, well, could someone please answer me why can't I show up again my old leaderboard, 'cause after I "Leader - Hide MasterBoard" and then, "Leaderboard - Crete Crazy Time Leaderboard ........", but After I want to the Masterboard to be shown again and the Crazy Time Leaderboard to be hiden.......Confusing I think, but, ok then....... Well other thing...

    Can I make a unit cast a spell in 0.2 seconds... 'cause I want something like this:

    Event:
    Unit Enters "Lava"

    Conditions:

    Actions:

    Unit Spell Caster - Issue Order Targeting Unit - My_Custom_Abillity
    Wait 0.4
    Unit - Issue Order Targeting No Point - Stop

    What I want is this....
    I want even if lots of units enter in Lava Region, I would like that they be hit by My_Custom_Abillity and They would be attacked once....

    Thx for the last help about the Negative Height...
     
  4. Dragon_Lord

    Dragon_Lord

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    156
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ok, well first off, if you want your ability to be cast at all, you'll have to modify an already existing spell, because, as you can see, in the Issue Order Targeting Unit, there are only a few preset spells. You'll have to modify one of those preset spells for it to work.

    For a unit to become unselectable, you need to go into the Object Manager. Select your unit in it, and look for Unit is selectable in game or something like that, and uncheck that box.... either that or in the unit's abilities give it the ability Locust. I don't quite remember.

    And lastly, for the Lava Buff question... which seems to be a modified version of the first question I answered... use this:

    ..Well, if your spell is a spell that causes damage... use this:

    Events:

    Unit - A unit is attacked

    Conditions:

    Unit - Attacking unit equal to "your unit using the spell"

    Actions:

    Unit - Issue Order with no Target - Command "your unit" to Stop


    Or something around those lines. You can think of the rest or fill in any blanks I may have left. Hope this helps some.

    Dragon_Lord
     
  5. Neltharius

    Neltharius

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    For the Lava thing, you just have to modify the Demon Hunter's "Immolation" skill, putting your unit in the middle, changing the AoE of the spell, then ordering it to stop through a trigger after the entering unit is hurt once.

    To make your unit unselectable, give it the "Locust" ability.

    As for the Leaderboard problem, I suggest using a Multiboard, so that it will be minimized or can be hidden (thus can be recovered again).

    Lastly, if I remember well, WE Unlimited can bear negative values. But I don't know if it's able to support this through flying heights...
     
  6. Avoh_do_Mal

    Avoh_do_Mal

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thx.

    Well, I'm not sure about using WEU 'cause many people that i know told me that it is badly bugged and sometimes can corrupt the whole map, if they are right at all. But thx for you people.. Well...

    So, Can't i switch leaderboards, by hiding and then showing one new, and hide the new and show the old one? If I understood what you guys said , I will have to use a Multiboard... ...If i have more questions, i will post them,,, For now, thx for u all... :D

    -----------------------------------------------------

    I forgot to tell, the spell that I used with the Issue Order Targeting Unit, was based on Poison Bomb (Goblin Hero), so, how can I make my unselectable unit throws that spell every 0.1 or minus than this?
     
  7. Los_Tacos

    Los_Tacos

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    219
    Resources:
    7
    Maps:
    7
    Resources:
    7
    I was reading through the spell FAQ when I came across this and remembered this thread.

    Try that to make the flying height negative.
     
  8. Avoh_do_Mal

    Avoh_do_Mal

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    That's awful

    Oh thanks, but could someone please answer me about the Leaderboard? 'cause I don't want to creat a Multiboard 'cause the other is 100% done.... Or, if must be done, I will do it.... PLSSS...........NEED HELP WITH THE LEADERBOARD...but, for now, thx for you who helped...
     
  9. Los_Tacos

    Los_Tacos

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    219
    Resources:
    7
    Maps:
    7
    Resources:
    7
    I tried using the negative flying height myself, and indeed it worked. [​IMG]
     
  10. Avoh_do_Mal

    Avoh_do_Mal

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well

    I didn't tried yet (In world editor I see my model as I wanted (Negatie Height) but in warcraft tft no, I see him in height 0 (OBS: I Didn't tried what people said above...)) Well, could somebody please tell me how to do the leaderboard thing?