• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Question - Not sure where this belongs..

Level 5
I've been struggling with focusing on just one project when I have many ideas for many other maps and stuff... I am not very skilled yet with the World editor. How do you guys do it? My other biggest problem is that, though I am new to map making, I have big ideas that are mostly out of my field of experience when it comes to using the world editor... Never know what to invest my time in or how to choose which project is within my capabilities...

Uncle

Warcraft Moderator
Level 64
I've been struggling with focusing on just one project when I have many ideas for many other maps and stuff... I am not very skilled yet with the World editor. How do you guys do it? My other biggest problem is that, though I am new to map making, I have big ideas that are mostly out of my field of experience when it comes to using the world editor... Never know what to invest my time in or how to choose which project is within my capabilities...
Finishing a project is very difficult to do, regardless of skill level, but the payoff is almost always worth it.

If I were you I would continue trying to master the Trigger Editor since that is what will enable you to achieve your big ideas.

I suggest learning how to use/do the following:
  • Array variables.
  • If Then Else statements.
  • For Each loops.
  • Unit Group variables for managing different Player's units (Array versions of these require extra steps).
  • Player Group variables for managing different teams of Players (Array versions of these require extra steps).