1. Are you planning to upload your awesome spell or system to Hive? Please review the rules here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The poll for our 11th Music Contest is up! Help us choose the most awesome cinematic tracks by casting a vote!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Melee Mapping contest #3 - Poll is up! Vote for the best 4v4 melee maps!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 30th edition of the Modeling Contest is finally up! The Portable Buildings need your attention, so come along and have a blast!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The Aftermath has been revealed for the 19th Terraining Contest! Be sure to check out the Results and see what came out of it.
    Dismiss Notice

Power Aura 1.0.2

Submitted by Daffa the Mage
This bundle is marked as approved. It works and satisfies the submission rules.
An old request from @Razer!X back at Kawaii Spell Workshop led by @Malhorne
Power Aura

Code Type: GUI
Spell Type: Hero
Target Type: Passive
Area of Effect: 1000/1100/1200/1300
Number of Levels: 4
Mana Cost: 0
Cooldown: 0
In-game Description: The hero leads his allies to bring them to victory. Each allied unit nearby will give +1 damage to every allied unit with this buff.
How the spell works: Each allied unit within 1000/1100/1200/1300 will give all allies with this aura to have +1 damage. Example: When there are 10 nearby heroes, you and your allies will have +10 damage.


I put two versions, one with CSS and the other without it. The one without has limitation of only support 100 unit per aura owner.

Oh, the best part of this ability is that it's a passive AND is GUI! :D

[1.0.2]
Changed the recommended method
Added some information for the no longer supported method

[1.0.1]
Preload abilities to avoid lag
Fixed a typo in the description

[1.0]
Uploaded
Contents

Power Aura (Map)

Reviews
KILLCIDE
Despite the simplicity, the way the aura updates based on the number of units in the area makes this simple spell really interesting. Nice job! I would just get rid of the "normal" Power Aura haha. Needs Fixed Nothing Suggestions The way you're...
  1. KILLCIDE

    KILLCIDE

    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    3,440
    Resources:
    20
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    10
    Spells:
    7
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    20
    Why don't you create a unit on Map Init, add the ability, and then remove the unit?
     
  2. Daffa the Mage

    Daffa the Mage

    Map Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7,304
    Resources:
    22
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    8
    Spells:
    12
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    22
    Tried, but it doesn't seem to the job well. Might be related to enumeration upon first instance.
     
  3. KILLCIDE

    KILLCIDE

    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    3,440
    Resources:
    20
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    10
    Spells:
    7
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    20
    Err... are you sure? I just tested it out right now and it got rid of it lol.
     
  4. Daffa the Mage

    Daffa the Mage

    Map Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7,304
    Resources:
    22
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    8
    Spells:
    12
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    22
    Hmm... odd, I guess I'll try preloading it now.
     
  5. Daffa the Mage

    Daffa the Mage

    Map Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7,304
    Resources:
    22
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    8
    Spells:
    12
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    22
    UPDATE to 1.0.1
    Preload added
    Some typo fixes
     
  6. Dark_Axl

    Dark_Axl

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    472
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    I just checked the triggers through Trigger Viewer,
    it seems that the GUI one lack configurability as most part of it depends on OE editing and limited to 100 units affected,
    assuming +1 per unit affected with default 100 levels (or more with shift-click) of dummy damage ability,
    you should mention these limitation as to not confusing GUI users that find the ability didn't give correct bonus under certain conditions.

    the other one that uses CSS is much more better and has possibility of more customization,
    (like different bonus value per level, not just restricted to aura AOE increase like the GUI one),

    I would like to suggest to drop the current GUI one (or at least make it the secondary version) while updating the CSS version to support different bonus per level learned and make the CSS as mandatory requirement.

    and how about add the support for Tome of Retraining case?
     
  7. Daffa the Mage

    Daffa the Mage

    Map Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7,304
    Resources:
    22
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    8
    Spells:
    12
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    22
    Indeed the GUI one is flawed, but it avoids the 198 import CSS have as that needs JNGP's Macro, which as far as 1.28 concerns, is messed up. I will add the note instead and make it secondary like you recommended.

    The whole spell reacts to the buff, so I think it won't matter much. I will check it for the ToR case.
     
  8. KILLCIDE

    KILLCIDE

    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    3,440
    Resources:
    20
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    10
    Spells:
    7
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    20
    Works for WEX :p
     
  9. Dark_Axl

    Dark_Axl

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    472
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    on second thought, why you choose to implement individual bonus to each unit affected?

    how about this method:
    you can use a hidden modified dummy Trueshot Aura to give static bonus per level,
    then you adjust the level of the dummy ability based on number of units in area with the buff.
    the only downside though is the delay on updating the bonus since it use aura to give bonus.

    and you can enum the correct units directly by adding the condition "Matching Unit has buff" to the SubGroup enumeration instead of using if- check on SubUnit.
     
  10. Daffa the Mage

    Daffa the Mage

    Map Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7,304
    Resources:
    22
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    8
    Spells:
    12
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    22
    WEX supports Macro?
     
  11. KILLCIDE

    KILLCIDE

    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    3,440
    Resources:
    20
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    10
    Spells:
    7
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    20
    Yessir! I used CSS for my team's entry in Hero Contest #9 and I imported it with ease :3
     
  12. Daffa the Mage

    Daffa the Mage

    Map Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7,304
    Resources:
    22
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    8
    Spells:
    12
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    22
    Nice then. I haven't got luck with WEX, seems that my antivirus is being noisy.
     
  13. Daffa the Mage

    Daffa the Mage

    Map Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7,304
    Resources:
    22
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    8
    Spells:
    12
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    22
    Sorry for the double post, forgot to comment on this

    Well, the initial idea was that it won't exceed 100 and back in the day, an easier approach in my logic. I also distaste the aura's delay.
     
  14. KILLCIDE

    KILLCIDE

    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    3,440
    Resources:
    20
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    10
    Spells:
    7
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    20
    Despite the simplicity, the way the aura updates based on the number of units in the area makes this simple spell really interesting. Nice job! I would just get rid of the "normal" Power Aura haha.

    Needs Fixed

    • Nothing

    Suggestions

    • The way you're storing the radius per level isn't that user friendly :p I'd get rid of the loop and just let users input it how they want from there.
    • Not a fan of using (Matching unit) to filter units of a unit group. I recommend taking a look at this
    • It's not really necessary for you to let PA_SubUnit = No unit at the end of each iteration
    • To slightly improve efficiency and logic, I'd only have Power Aura Loop on if there are units / Heroes present in PA_Group

    Status


    Approved