1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Choose your ride to damnation in the 5th Special Effect Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The winners of the 13th Techtree Contest have been announced!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The 13th Music Contest Poll is up! Vote for the best tracks in this symphony of frost and flame.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Poly Count

Discussion in 'StarCraft I & II' started by JakeCake, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. JakeCake

    JakeCake

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    425
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    I'm in the unlucky position, of not having received my StarCraft:2 beta key yet. Even though, I'm already getting ready for the editor, so I've done a bunch of Concept-Art already, so that I can get a quick start when the editor gets in my hands. Now I would like to create a few models as well, before the game is actually out. One of these models are a character model, and therefore I would ask one of the lucky beta-key-holders to open up a few StarCraft:2 models and post their poly-count in this thread.

    I would hate to create a model stealing too much performance, or one with too low quality. I got an idea of the textures used, but if you post this too, it will sure help as well.

    Thank you :')
     
  2. BlinkBoy

    BlinkBoy

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,108
    Resources:
    12
    Models:
    4
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    3
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    12
    characters? you mean units or campaign characters?

    well most units range from 1000 polies to 2000. However, unit like the Thor have 8k polies.

    Here's a zergling:
    [​IMG]

    About modeling specifications:

    you'll need to make 4 maps: a diffuse map(normal texture), a bump map(a normal map made out of a high poly version of the model), a specular map(a type of map that defines inner lighting) and an emissive map(no idea, never made one of these).

    Among other things:
    1º animation names are the same as wc3, with some additionals.
    2º Death model and Normal model are 2 sepparated models.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. bboy-tiger-

    bboy-tiger-

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    899
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    To me marine looks like 800 poly model...
    And 8k poly is kinda a lot. Maybe there was something while you extracted it or something xD .

    I bet they used 2008 or 2009 max. 2010 is kinda meh.
     
  4. JakeCake

    JakeCake

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    425
    Resources:
    2
    Tools:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Thank you, the poly count is pretty nice that way, I will go for 8-10k for my character models then, and probably 2-5k for units which appear more than once in screen at the same time :)

    love _jakeCake
     
  5. The World Is Flat

    The World Is Flat

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,560
    Resources:
    4
    Icons:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    I would suggest 800-3k for units and 4k-8k for charachters. no need to send bad computers into the dumps.
     
  6. Dark.Revenant

    Dark.Revenant

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    477
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    With normal maps, you can have great amounts of detail packed into only a few polygons.

    Also, the OP isn't entirely correct about textures...

    Diffuse map: Base RGBA texture for color and transparency
    Normal map: RBGA (RGB if it's only a bump map, which appears more flat than a normal map) texture that goes through the texture shaders to allow geometric detail to be applied to the texture (defines how the texture "pops out")
    Specular map: RGB (probably RGBA) texture that defines the color and intensity of the glossyish shine you get from the model - I'm assuming that this affects the environment mapping/reflection intensity as well, probably in the alpha channel
    Emissive map: RGB (possibly RGBA) map that defines the glowy bits of the texture - in-game lighting does not affect this texture and it will have a bloom shader applied to it, making it appear to be a full-brightness light
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2010
  7. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,840
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Remember that these are the ultra setting models we are talking about. For 75-85% of players they may not be playing anything near that detail level for a few years so they might be useing reduced poly models and reduced texture resolution as well as some channels completly disabled.

    As for how many polys your units should have. Unlike you guys asigning random and pointless values to them to annoy people, you should consider the size and relevance of the models in the game when choosing the detail level for them.

    A small prop that only appears once or for a very short time should be rather low poly, with about 500 as an aimed max for keeping creation time down and filesize low.

    A main character model, like cloud if you were making a FF7 campaign, should have 10K upwards as he is constantly in view, finite in quantity (there is only 1 cloud strife) and will take uf a large part of the screen so detail is important.

    On the other hand a spam unit like zombies in a swat aftermath like map would need low poly models. 700 is proabably a good value as there may be several hundred at once with 1000 if zombies are rarer (50s).

    Very small units on the other hand like lets say a mini mechanical drone should probably be only 300 or 200, as when zoomed out they may only be a few dozen pixels so the detail does not mater.

    Absolutly huge models like environmental models which make up whole parts of the map should be upwards of 50K, as they can fill the whole screen at a time so the detail is important.

    Do remember that in the end you will have to make a WC3 level of detail equivelent for every single model you make so that the map can actually be playable for most people. If you make a 3K poly footman model for a footman frenzy and do not include a WC3 like level of detail model for it, you have literally killed off everyone with older computers as there is no way older or slower cards could handle 600K polys at once etc.

    I am not too sure about textures, there is a chance it may resize them automatically on map load by doing the cheap trick of loading lower mipmaps only and using them instead of the full texture + all mipmaps.

    It also depends on how restricted the file size is. If you are capped at only 8-16MB (as an insane situation), you will probably be foced to use WC3 like models a lot of the time, especially for RPG maps with a lot of custom content. If they have much higher caps (500 MB) or no cap on custom material (separated from map), then you can happily import rediclous detailed models like even ones with 2048*2048 textures.
     
  8. MGCǂSpectre

    MGCǂSpectre

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,007
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Dr Super Good, there are no low poly versions of the models, only one model file per unit, that is now low/medium versions. Since models vary from 150KB some to 1MB+ all i can say is - im glad it uses high poly models. I lost interest in seeing people making low poly models for war3 and I mean things like doing a 10KB model just because a '30KB is too much for that kind of model'.. Now I'd say feel free to make 200-1000KB models, cause lots of details can be just for 200KB, no need to be staying and making low poly models like under 100KB... that's sc2
     
  9. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,840
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    You will still need to program in the low poly versions of the model I think, atleast for the first few years although logically all the effort should be on the ulta seting model.

    Or are you telling me the game has an automatic model reducer when it loads them on lower settings?
     
  10. MGCǂSpectre

    MGCǂSpectre

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,007
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    I think it isnt lowering the models at all, only the textures and particles, the latter dont show at low settings. There are no diff versions of the same model from what ive seen in the mpqs.

    Well I laughed when I saw this in another forum: (in war3 out of memory makes all terrain and units white and untextured)

    http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/4359/sc2ac.jpg

    this is what happens if you run out of physical or grahpics memory, lol, the guy that showed this, i thought he's showing some board game with balls until i saw the interface that this is sc2
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2010
  11. vjeux

    vjeux

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You can achieve the exact same effect by renaming the mpq file that stores all the textures (base.sc2assets).
     
  12. Taylor_Mouse

    Taylor_Mouse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    625
    Resources:
    7
    Models:
    2
    Icons:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    7
    That image you also achief when using the hack when you do not have a SC2 key

    T.
     
  13. Hero_Lief

    Hero_Lief

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Or simply keeping an MPQ open in an editor, then trying to play the game that uses that MPQ.
     
  14. MGCǂSpectre

    MGCǂSpectre

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,007
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    In other words this, nothing to do with hacking :)

    https://www.hiveworkshop.com/posts/1545685/
    Also I cannot be called a keyless whiner or 'user of sc2 without key' as I sensed such implication in this thread. Not sure if clear but that was needed for playing vs others, to not start from zero in beta.