• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Please Help me with 2 spells

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hello people, im new to the forums and map editing and all that. I need two spells for a little map im messing with. Im trying to make a Devour spell for a hero. But i cant get it to work, and i cant edit like the damage the spell does. Im a newbie with all this stuff, so could someone help me, or post a link to Devour spells. Id like both for heroes, one that works on Heroes, and the other that works like normal devour but has different levels.

Level 10
to make it into a hero ability is simple:

Just look for the the "Is Hero Ability" lable on the devour ability in object editor, then double click that and check the little box.

To change the damage and durration is not simple at all...

you can make this 2 ways, 1 easier way (i suggest this way) or a much harder a more complicated way. the easier way will not have the i con of the unit on the caster's menu, the harder way might.

HARD WAY-
you would havbe to go into trigger editor , hide target and make it so when unit casts the spell it targets a dummy, with the same iocon, and after a certain amount of time unhide unit and deal x amount of damage....

EASY WAY-
create a dummy unit that has hp = the durration of the spell and give it -1 hp generation. and perioticly move the dummy to position of triggering unit.

hope thats not too complicated (tell me if u need a more specific post)

~iplaystarcraft

Level 2