1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The poll for Hive's 12th Concept Art Contest is up! Go cast your vote for your favourite genie!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. The raddest synthwave tracks were chosen - Check out our Music Contest #12 - Results and congratulate the winners!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[JASS] Overriding blizzard.j for modding?

Discussion in 'Triggers & Scripts' started by PiesOfNorth, Aug 6, 2019.

  1. PiesOfNorth

    PiesOfNorth

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hi. From what I understand, the way to go about overlaying mods over the game is to simply copy the files with their path to the game directory. (ex: Warcraft III\Scripts\blizzard.j)

    So I've done that, and figured I'd start with simple modifications. So I opened up my copy of blizzard.j that I grabbed from CascView into JassCraft and changed the value of bj_MELEE_STARTING_GOLD_V1 to 900. When I went to try a single player custom game with this change, any map with melee triggers would give a message saying "There was an error reading the map file." and so I couldn't start the game.

    This seems like it should be a simple enough thing to mess with, what might I be doing wrong?
     
  2. Pyrogasm

    Pyrogasm

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,893
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    You can modify the constants directly by setting them with a jass script that runs before you run the melee init stuff.
     
  3. PiesOfNorth

    PiesOfNorth

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Would it be possible to modify the Upkeep Food levels and maximum food cap with jass as well? (I know you can do it through gameplay constants, but wondering if it's possible this way as well, or with the new modding features in general)

    EDIT: Turns out you can modify these by simply overriding 'war3mapMisc.txt' directly in the game root directory.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2019