• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Official Design Document(s) - Blizzard

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kyrbi0

Arena Moderator
Level 45
Are there any official "design documents", manifestos, interviews, anything of the sort released (or leaked) by Blizzard in terms of designing Warcraft III?

So I've been modding for several years off and on now, and what I've ended up doing (quite frantically these last few months) is what I've come to realize is trying to 'reverse-engineer' Warcraft 3. Basically, since I'm attempting to build custom races & heroes, I look at the existing heroes & races to try and detect patterns in how they were made, so that I can appropriately do similarly. However, while I've had much success, I've also run into a lot of walls; and honestly, I feel like I'm trying to re-invent the wheel and missing the "round". :p

Thus I ask; are there any sort of official (or unofficial) "design documents", manifestos, interviews with designers, footage, etc, that would give a hint as to Warcraft 3's design? Things like "why no economy heroes", or "why anti-turtling was added to the expansion", or "why generally 2 casters" or "why mostly AoE ultimates"... (I may 'know' some of those answers, just giving examples of the kind of questions) etc.

Thanks again.

I think this question can be summed up to:
"What makes Blizzard games so incredibly awesome compared to other games?"

I think it's that perfectionist design of those games in almost any aspect. The interface, the art design, the content design ... it's extremely well 'rounded' in all of their games.
You just gotta admit that their design and concept teams do an incredible job.