1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Lead your forces to battle in the 15th Techtree Contest. The call is yours, commander!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Negative "Art - Pitch angle (Degrees)" field

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by bruunk, May 23, 2020.

  1. bruunk

    bruunk

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I was looking at this great tutorial here about manipulating special effects and I really wanted to implement one of these things into my map. The instructions are simple and I followed them but it simply did nothing. I was wondering if I was missing something or perhaps if this is no longer something that can be accomplished with simply object editor fields, and if not, how would I accomplish it?

    Basically what I was trying to do was make the orientation of a unit to negative 90, so it would be always horizontally aligned, and then change the units model to a tome of retraining to make a beam sort of effect. However, this method does not change the units orientation, it simply sticks straight up.

    I've also tried to do this with special effects instead of a dummy unit, but the same issue occurred. I set the pitch, yaw, and roll of the SE through triggers and still it was just straight up, as normal. The SE was set to spawn at point, not on unit, so I see no reason why it wouldn't work :/

    Can anyone help?
     
  2. Veritas 117

    Veritas 117

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,223
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I don’t recall if units use degrees or radians, but when you change the pitch or roll of a doodad you have to use radians. I think something like -.78 (or maybe -1.57? I can’t remember off the top of my head) should work. Might be worth a try.

    I don’t have the newest patch though so that could be a bug?
     
  3. bruunk

    bruunk

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks for the suggestion, unfortunately I can't get it to work. I think it could just be a bug because I even have "allow negative real values in object editor" checked and yet I still need to override the pitch angle field with Shift.
     
  4. Veritas 117

    Veritas 117

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,223
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ya it’s the same for me with having to shift override. What version are you using?
     
  5. bruunk

    bruunk

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Not completely sure, I can't even find any info on how I would check. I would assume it's updated to the most recent patch because now it's through the blizz launcher but i'm not 100% sure. How do you even see the version anyways?
     
  6. Veritas 117

    Veritas 117

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,223
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    upload_2020-5-23_19-0-29.jpeg
    It shows up in the bottom right corner of the menu screen
     
  7. bruunk

    bruunk

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Okay thanks! I have version 1.32.5.15216
     
  8. Veritas 117

    Veritas 117

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,223
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I think that’s the newest one then. (Reforged) I haven’t heard about this being a bug with reforged, but you can look on the known bugs forum and see if anyone else is having a similar issue