• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

Need Help with system

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 6
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
258
Ok so I have been working on this dual system and to me it should work but for some reason it doesn't so i need help finding out why it doesn't work and how to fix it.

I added the map as an attachment since i find that easier.
 

Attachments

  • Dialog Dual System.w3x
    30.7 KB · Views: 49
Level 28
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
4,789
Dual: relating to or denoting two / twofold, double
Duel: A prearranged combat with deadly weapons.

There, that's one mistake fixed :D


  • Hashtable - Save Handle Of(Triggering player) as 3 of 3 in DS_Hashtable
How is this different from "Set duelPlayer3 = Triggering Player"? Aside from that hashtables are a lot slower, of course.
You do NOT use hashtables that way, that's both useless and bad.

Also, you use WAY Too many arrays. Most of the times, you don't even need those arrays.

About the actual problem: I don't really know where the problem lies, so I don't know where to look either.
 
Level 6
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
258
So when i type

-Dual

the menu pops up then i hit the

dialogue button player 6

My brother see's the next dialogue screen and hits

dialogue button yes

Now it should move both of use to the dual area but it doesn't

and i know i need to use less array and not use hashtables like i did but this was done before i learned all that i was planning on fixing that after i figured out how to make it work right.


Edit: i think i found what i did bad but not sure i need to test it
Edit2:Ok well i tested it and it moved my hero i was player 1 but it didn't move my brothers hero he was player 6

i used less array and i got rid of the hashtables

Edit Did more work on the triggering and set it up for a hero tavern select system.
 

Attachments

  • Dialog Dual System v1.w3x
    30.4 KB · Views: 82
Last edited:
Level 28
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
4,789
I cannot see the problem, would you mind debugging the trigger?

When DS_Yes is clicked, display messages that say:
  • Player number of DS_StartingPlayerT1
  • Player number of DS_AcceptingPlayerT2
  • Unit name of Hero[player number of T1]
  • Unit name of Hero[player number of T2]

See if something is wrong with the player numbers and/or unit variables.
If nothing is wrong with that data, let me think a little while... unfortunately, I cannot access my old PC at the moment, otherwise I could try to debug it myself :/
 
Level 6
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
258
I added these in where you told me to then i tried it and no text came up

  • Game - Display to (All players) for 30.00 seconds the text: (String((Player number of DS_StartingPlayerT1)))
  • Game - Display to (All players) for 30.00 seconds the text: (String((Player number of DS_AcceptingPlayerT2)))
  • Game - Display to (All players) for 30.00 seconds the text: (Name of DS_SetHero[(Player number of DS_StartingPlayerT1)])
  • Game - Display to (All players) for 30.00 seconds the text: (Name of DS_SetHero[(Player number of DS_AcceptingPlayerT2)])
 
Level 28
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
4,789
You added them in the trigger "Outcome", right after the comment "Moving the heroes to duel arena"?
And a hero actually moved? Because no hero should move if you place them there and no text pops up... I mean, if the unit's name doesn't display, how can the unit move?

In case you placed them as the first 4 actions of the If/Then/Else: DS_AcceptingPlayer2 wasn't set up yet.
 
Level 6
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
258
this is how i have it
  • Outcome1
    • Events
      • Dialog - A dialog button is clicked for DS_AcceptReject[1]
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
        • If - Conditions
          • (Clicked dialog button) Equal to DS_Yes
        • Then - Actions
          • -------- Saveing the triggering player --------
          • Set DS_AcceptingPlayerT2 = (Triggering player)
          • -------- Moving the heroes to dual area --------
          • Game - Display to (All players) for 30.00 seconds the text: (String((Player number of DS_StartingPlayerT1)))
          • Game - Display to (All players) for 30.00 seconds the text: (String((Player number of DS_AcceptingPlayerT2)))
          • Game - Display to (All players) for 30.00 seconds the text: (Name of DS_SetHero[(Player number of DS_StartingPlayerT1)])
          • Game - Display to (All players) for 30.00 seconds the text: (Name of DS_SetHero[(Player number of DS_AcceptingPlayerT2)])
          • Set DS_TempPoint1 = (Center of Team1 dual location <gen>)
          • Unit - Move DS_SetHero[(Player number of DS_StartingPlayerT1)] instantly to DS_TempPoint1
          • Set DS_TempPoint2 = (Center of Team2 dual location <gen>)
          • Unit - Move DS_SetHero[(Player number of DS_AcceptingPlayerT2)] instantly to DS_TempPoint2
          • Custom script: call RemoveLocation (udg_DS_TempPoint1)
          • Custom script: call RemoveLocation (udg_DS_TempPoint2)
          • -------- Turning DS_Dual on so trigger will know a dual is going --------
          • Set DS_DualOn = True
        • Else - Actions
      • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
        • If - Conditions
          • (Clicked dialog button) Equal to DS_No
        • Then - Actions
          • -------- Not need unless you want something like it --------
          • Set DS_TempGroup = (All allies of Player 1 (Red))
          • Player Group - Pick every player in DS_TempGroup and do (Actions)
            • Loop - Actions
              • Player - Add 500 to (Picked player) Current gold
          • Custom script: call DestroyForce (udg_DS_TempGroup)
        • Else - Actions
And my hero moves i was player 1 red
my brother's hero dosen't player 6 orange
 
Level 6
Joined
Sep 27, 2008
Messages
258
idk that is why i needed help let me try it another time really fast
edit i can test it right now cuz my brothers computer is messing up so i will try in a little

Edit 2
ok so we tried it 2 time
1st. me asking him for dual and no message came up when he agreed to dual and it Tp him to my dual location and i did not move

2nd him asking me for dual ans no message came up when i agreed to dual and it Tp me to his dual location and he dosen't move
 

Attachments

  • Dialog Dual System v2.w3x
    31 KB · Views: 78
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top