• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

Name System, is it possible?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
29
I noticedalmost every rpg ive seen for wc3 has set charactor names. I was wondering if there was a way to have a player type the name he/she wanted and it would show that name wherever your charactors name would be shown in the game. (like when npcs talk to you or on your char display at bottom of the screen etc.
 
Level 12
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
994
if war3 allowed triggers to edit every object property, including names, then we'd be able to. but most object properties are set in stone. and just because you can get the values doesn't mean you can modify them. sad, but true.

It is true, but still kinda lol if you know what I mean. Now I'm not that good at C++/C but I don't think that it should be too hard to make them configureable. (Reffering to Blizzard)
 
Level 3
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
29
aww howd u kno the name i was gonna use ? :p , but seriously thanks for the info and are you serious about beeing able to harcode it? if so would you be willing to?
 
Level 13
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
1,198
iow(in other words) if you ask your players to submit hero names then you can give them the hero names they requested when you make the map...otherwise, getting the player to select hero names is impossible.

when he says using dialog for player names, yes, this makes sense. for example if the hero speaks like in a cinematic or you make other messages displayed you can use the hero name made up by the player.

if you want to go with that i suggest making the hero proper name be blank. an alternate unit id for each hero could be prudent...players who want standard hero name could have a non-blank hero proper name, but that isn't a great idea, it could be slightly confusing for players, it might be just better to keep the name blank and just use one hero type.
 
Level 37
Joined
Mar 6, 2006
Messages
9,243
Here's the trigger_

  • Name
    • Events
      • Player - Player 1 (Red) types a chat message containing name as A substring
    • Conditions
      • (Substring((Entered chat string), 1, 5)) Equal to name
    • Actions
      • Set Hero_Name = (Substring((Entered chat string), 6, (Length of (Entered chat string))))
Or multiplayer
  • Name
    • Events
      • Player - Player 1 (Red) types a chat message containing name as A substring
      • Player - Player 2 (Blue) types a chat message containing name as A substring
      • Player - Player 3 (Teal) types a chat message containing name as A substring
    • Conditions
      • (Substring((Entered chat string), 1, 5)) Equal to name
    • Actions
      • Set Hero_Name[Player number of (triggering player)] = (Substring((Entered chat string), 6, (Length of (Entered chat string))))
If you type name Arthas then your name will be Arthas. Instead of Length of (Entered chat string) you can set it to some exact value to limit the max length of name.

Then in cinematics for example, use the variable:
  • Cinematic - Send transmission to Player Group - Player 1 (Red) from Unit named Hero_Name: Play No sound and display Actually, I have no.... Modify duration: Add 2.00 seconds and Wait
 
Level 9
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
475
Here's the trigger_

  • Name
    • Events
      • Player - Player 1 (Red) types a chat message containing name as A substring
    • Conditions
      • (Substring((Entered chat string), 1, 5)) Equal to name
    • Actions
      • Set Hero_Name = (Substring((Entered chat string), 6, (Length of (Entered chat string))))
Or multiplayer
  • Name
    • Events
      • Player - Player 1 (Red) types a chat message containing name as A substring
      • Player - Player 2 (Blue) types a chat message containing name as A substring
      • Player - Player 3 (Teal) types a chat message containing name as A substring
    • Conditions
      • (Substring((Entered chat string), 1, 5)) Equal to name
    • Actions
      • Set Hero_Name[Player number of (triggering player)] = (Substring((Entered chat string), 6, (Length of (Entered chat string))))
If you type name Arthas then your name will be Arthas. Instead of Length of (Entered chat string) you can set it to some exact value to limit the max length of name.

Then in cinematics for example, use the variable:
  • Cinematic - Send transmission to Player Group - Player 1 (Red) from Unit named Hero_Name: Play No sound and display Actually, I have no.... Modify duration: Add 2.00 seconds and Wait
Good job! i also needed this :D
 
Level 7
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
264
DrSuperGood aint so Super...:goblin_wtf:
Edit ... i was totaly fucked up when i wrote this .. i kinda mest up my map too
good i got 2x saves ...
sry DrSuperGood
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top