• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

My map terrain - First time doing terrain

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 7
Hi, this is my first time doing the map terrain, so I choose the smaller scale of map size (64*64) to make a fun map which called "Defend of the Shrine City"

This map is similar to Starcraft BroodWar's Defend of the Galaxy which only two players able to play in the map and build their kingdom just like melee map but have to defend their kingdom at any cost (defend their kingdom from being destroy by waves of enemy's attackers).

So here are the screenshots of my terrain:

So what are your comments?

Attachments

• DoTSC_02.jpg
    DoTSC_02.jpg
    583.3 KB · Views: 172
  • DoTSC_03.jpg
    DoTSC_03.jpg
    633.7 KB · Views: 117
  • DoTSC_04.jpg
    DoTSC_04.jpg
    561.1 KB · Views: 135
  • DoTSC_05.jpg
    DoTSC_05.jpg
    558.3 KB · Views: 110
  • DoTSC_01.jpg
    DoTSC_01.jpg
    555.7 KB · Views: 160
  • DoTSC_06.jpg
    DoTSC_06.jpg
    940.9 KB · Views: 120
Level 14
Kinda empty. All you did was spamming trees in the corners as doodads and adding that ramp.

Level 19
Well, I don't doupt its playability, but you could do alot of stuff to make it look better. All those tree spams look ugly. Unless they are essential for the gameplay, like for lumber, I think you should remove them, or at least decrease their number drastically. There are no rocks, nor shrubs or any other sign of regular vegetation. Environmental doodads is your friend, remember that when terraining. Blizzard default cliffs usually look ugly. Unless you are VERY skilled and really know how use them, you should avoid them. Instead try to raise the terrain and use pathing blockers.