• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

'Miss' System need help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
I have been working on an ORPG for 8 months now and it is starting to take shape. For my map I need a 'miss' system, but I just can't get one working. I already have the miss system setup but I can't get the attacking unit to actually miss. :? Any suggestions?

Level 5
What you could do is give the unit 100% evasion, and every unit a custom critical strike (no miss enabled, 1 x normal damage). Then you can change the chance of each unit's critical strike to give each unit type a different accuracy.

Level 1
Here's how my system works. It gets your attack rating and the defending monster's lvl. I then assign a % according to the lvl of monster and a % to the attack rating. Then it is [50 + %attack - %lvl]. Then the trigger rolls a d100 and if the d100 is lower than the hit%, he hits else he misses.

I want to avoid using ability's such as evasion because 1) it takes 1 of the 7 ability slots and 2) what if the defending monster has more than 1 player attacking it? Because 1 missed they all miss.

I need a way I can make the attacking unit miss by trigger. And please no 'add ability' suggestions (Read above). A JASS of 'Add Buff' would be nice.

PS: I already have a system in place to show the damage dealt to a monster.

Level 3
There's a sample d&d combat system in the maps somewhere on this site, I think in systems, which does this. It uses a dummy unit that casts curse on the unit that is supposed to miss. The curse only lasts 1 second so it's enough to make that attack miss and then go away. That may be what you're looking for.

Level 1